Getting Down to Business: This business of grape 'juice'. - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

March 1, 2015

Getting Down to Business: This business of grape 'juice'.

WELL, well, well... what did you think? Grape juice? 'Grape juice'?

On the one hand, I have mastered the art of homebrewing beer. From APA to IPA, from Pilsner to stout, my craft brew is de-lish. On the other hand, I have never been able to produce anything but swill when I put forth an effort to make wine. Just ask any of my unfortunate wine-samplers.

To make a sad story sadder and longer... actually short and happy... I resort to drinking others' wines. And yes, even Ontario has a stellar product in Andrew Peller's Trius Red. Fantastic wine. (If I like a product I am not shy to blab that I do.) On the bike I cannot and will not carry any Trius from home because with the bike and associated gear... I have enough to cart all over the place. Rather, by strategically sampling wine along my route I can enjoy something different each day. From past experience, my taste buds prefer Spanish wine to anything else I have ever tried. Spain and Portugal, thus, a great choice.

Finally, the grapes... the juice... dot... dot... dot. And now you understand my rambling title for this journey.

As I prepare for the journey, I think of it constantly. I even had time to ponder a slight name change by combining wine and bicycle into one made-up term. The bicycle has sometimes been called the 'velociped'; the study of wine is known as 'oenology'. Velocipoenology! (Yes, some might roll their eyes!)

For those not in the 'know'... is that even possible, I ask myself... These tasty fruit, through oenological magic, become delicious wine.This photo was taken in 2005 when I walked the Camino de Santiago in northern Spain. The poor stranded things were begging to escape. I must admit I helped out a few of them. On this trip I hope to free some of the enslaved ones from their bottle-jail.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0