Friday, April 10 - Elvas to Estremoz: Hey, that's not mist over 'there'; that's rain coming 'here' - Velocipoenology: Sampling Iberian Grape 'Juice' with Two Wheels (Tour 14) - 2015 🇪🇸 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 10, 2015

Friday, April 10 - Elvas to Estremoz: Hey, that's not mist over 'there'; that's rain coming 'here'

IS IT better to be excited and go to bed expecting a sunny morning only to find the forecast was completely wrong? Or, is it better to know it is going to rain a lot for the second day in a row? I have no answer for this mystical musing, but what I know are the facts. I swam to Estremoz today in 9 C weather on my bike. Awesome. But it is better now and supposed to be better tomorrow. Where have I heard that one before?

My timing is all mixed up right now so I was ready to go at 7:30 am. It is light at 7 am now, so I rolled to a pastry shop for breakfast, then clunked down the cobblestone roads out of Elvas and to the main road.

The terrain was nice through the mists but it was wet enough that I could not take out the camera, and too cold to even want to. Not having had a day off at all, I was in a bit of sitting pain today, though it was only a 42 km day. Arriving to Estremoz felt good.

I entered the centre via the ancient stone fortifications, could see a fortress on the mountain, and either granite or marble cobblestones everywhere. Out on the highway there were monster piles of marble blocks beside a quarry. A fortune in marble. Thus, the stone is all over the city.

Mr gps guided me right to the door of this really nice hotel, they put my bike into their locked garage, then I strolled a bit waiting for noon to roll around for my typical Alentejana meal, which may or may not include local vinho tinto. During this wait, I had to have a Sumol which is Portugal's version of orange pop. I had one in 1982, 2003 and again now in 2015. Memories. Memories.

I had lunch in a traditional Alentejana restaurant. These huge wine vats were all around my table, though not used anymore. I had pork, potatoes, rice, vinho tinto and a custardy dessert. Delicious.
- Estremoz, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is at the central square which is about 50 m from my residencial. Those purple clouds in the background are not fake. It was dry for my walk after lunch, but is raining again now at 3:25 pm.
- Estremoz, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Central square church part of which is the turismo office.
- Estremoz, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Instead of beads, this cafe/bar uses corks in their entrance. I cannot imagine where I can use this, but I like it. Maybe in the new sunroom.
- Estremoz, Portugal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Notice the amazing cobblestone work. The white pieces are marble, likely from the local quarry.
- Estremoz, Portugal
Heart 0 Comment 0

Residencial Miguel José €20

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 420 km (261 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0