Rochefort - La Roch en Ardennes - The land of the Belgians and Luxembourgeois - CycleBlaze

March 16, 2011

Rochefort - La Roch en Ardennes

Heart 0 Comment 0

The next day I had planned a short, if hilly, jaunt across the Ardennes to La-Roche-en-Ardenne. This is picturesque country - unfortunately I awoke to my worst weather yet, and I set off in a misty drizzle.

This continued as I rode over hills and through off-road stretched, that, under dry conditions would be very appealing. As it was, though, I got increasingly wet, and the heavens really opened by the time I got to La Roche.

A grey day over hills and vales. Almost looks like Wales.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sometimes the mist would clear and I'd get a bit of better look
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice old houses. I like the two different types of brick used
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road was sometimes dramatic, but I was wet and it was a bit of a slog
Heart 0 Comment 0
Made it to La Roche
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately, I'd also chosen La Roche as the one place where I didn't have somewhere booked for the night. So I had to spend an hour or so wandering around the town, looking for guesthouses mentioned in my guide. I eventually found one open and with vacancies, and although the proprietress looked a little disconcerted to have this wet and muddy figure knocking on her door, she was very friendly and even helped me carry the bike into the garage.

La Roche is undoubtedly a lovely place, but on this drizzly Wednesday it was both deserted and a little bleak. Actually, it was quite atmospheric in its way, especially after the crowds I had come to in Han. I spent my time wandering around the old castle, listening to music, and feeling very far away from home.

Some views from the castle. It didn't get much clearer than this, unfortunately
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Ourthe flowing through the town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tourist train, abandoned in the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The deserted castle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice trebuchet
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 km (20 miles)
Total: 380 km (236 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0