Summing up - The land of the Belgians and Luxembourgeois - CycleBlaze

Summing up

Well, it only took me 7 years, but I finally got it together to write up what amounted to my first proper tour. Obviously this has been a bit of an exercise in stretching my memory - but I hope there's something here that's reasonably entertaining.

From the perspective of a few years later and a fair bit more experience with self-supported touring, a few things jump out at me:

  • I really had no idea what I was doing mechanically. It amazed me that I got that thing from one end of Belgium to another without it falling apart underneath me. I still think of that 43mph descent into Luxembourg City with a defective front wheel and cringe a bit.
  • I wasn't really prepared for all-day riding - and this was all to the good. I spent much more time sightseeing and doing conventional tourist stuff and saw a lot more of the towns I went through. Now I'm older and fitter (or at least have a better bike) I will more happily ride all day through barren country and only stop when it gets dark. 
  • However, compared to my later tours I spent what amounted to a fortune. Small hotels in Luxembourg City are not cheap.
  • I took much better photos back then (better camera, rather than photographic skill).
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonI’m glad you posted this, Mike. I’ve never really explored biking here. We’ve been saving the flat countries for when we get old, but some year.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jon AylingTo Scott AndersonCheers Scott! Yep, definitely recommended, and more variety than I had expected. The Trappist beer alone is worth the journey...
Reply to this comment
5 years ago