Brugge - Gent - The land of the Belgians and Luxembourgeois - CycleBlaze

March 11, 2011

Brugge - Gent

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a good rest in my very good, if somewhat pricey hotel (€80 if I remember rightly - actually not bad for Brugge). I had only a short, flat and straight distance to cover to Gent today, so had plenty of time for sightseeing in the morning.

Pretty grove around the lace museum, near to my hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
Carillon inside the bell tower
Heart 0 Comment 0
Working of the clock in the bell tower
Heart 0 Comment 0
Great views across the old city
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking up through the bells
Heart 1 Comment 0
Shocking. It obviously should be "then".
Heart 0 Comment 0
Et in arcadia ego
Heart 0 Comment 0

After I got my fill of the architecture and crowds, it was a doddle to continue South down the canal towards Gent. I could follow this the whole way, and it remained as flat as a pancake and as straight as a die. Possibly because I was much better rested, there was no hypnotically induced falling off today.

Big bulk cargo funnel (grain? sand?)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yep, still flat
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was a nice day. I didn't get hypnotised today by the endless flat straightness of it all, but you can see how it can happen
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a brief tangle with the Gent ring road, I continued to follow the canal right into the centre of town. I was staying in a B&B incongruously set inside a monastery: the rooms were like little monks cells. An atmospheric and central place to stay in Gent.

I really like Gent. It wasn't nearly as crammed with tourists as Brugge, and was slightly less twee - and I thinks ranks with it in picturesque canals and architectural interest. I had a good afternoon of sightseeing.

My monk's cell
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main canal through the centre of Gent
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice turret
Heart 0 Comment 0
Like a Flemish Venice (tongue-twister)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Castle flying Flemish and Belgian flags. Also pictured is a bonus strange stretch ... vehicle
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rather Oxford-esque
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gent
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 134 km (83 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0