Day 34: Sedalia to Chilhowee - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2023

Day 34: Sedalia to Chilhowee

Heart 1 Comment 0

I left the campsite early enough, wishing my new Canadian friend Graham well. We'd probably end up stopping in the same place tonight anyway since there's not many stops along the Rock Island Spur Trail towards Kansas City.

It wasn't a long ride until I was in Windsor, this is where my route diverges from the main Katy Trail down the spur. I had an early meal, finishing off my PB&J premix jar, and headed out again. I hardly saw anyone on this trail but there was a lot more wildlife.

A friendly and scared turtle living on the trail
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill Shaneyfelt3 toed box turtle

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/39818-Terrapene-carolina-triunguis
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

It was another day on fairly similar trails, but before long I was pulling into Chilhowee. It was a nice short day for a change so I got in before 2pm. I knew Graham wouldn't be that far behind me so I headed to the local convenience store and bought him a nice big can of beer, before shoving it in my sleeping bag and puffer jacket to keep cold.

He arrived and definitely appreciated the cold beverage on such a hot day. The tents were well shaded so it was a nice spot to relax. We cooked up our meals and had another beer each before eventually heading to bed so that we could get on the trail early. I had another big day planned, I wanted to get all the way past Kansas City to Olathe tomorrow. My friend Andrea who lives there isn't going to be available unfortunately but it's still a good point to get onto the American Discovery Trail across Kansas.

I settled into bed but I'm the middle of the night there were some youths hanging around the park. Climbing trees and making noise. They hadn't seen our tents and got a bit of a surprise when they finally noticed them. I'm glad they left but that didn't make for a great sleep.

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 2,045 km (1,270 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0