Day 28: Chester, IL to Farmington, MO - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2023

Day 28: Chester, IL to Farmington, MO

Heart 1 Comment 0

I got up very early for this ride, hoping to make it through Farmington, where I'd turn off onto the Great Rivers South route to take me up North to the Katy Trail. Unfortunately, I hadn't slept well, and my heartburn was still there from last night.

I headed out before 5:30am and immediately crossed the Mississippi River on the old deteriorating Chester Bridge. I counted about 60 Mississippis if you were wondering how long it took.

I arrived on the other side in Missouri, with a nice wide shouldered flat road. I timed my bridge crossing well and there had been no traffic. Missouri had a lot of crop fields, and right by the state border there were a lot of warehouses selling fireworks, clearly it must be illegal across the border.

I turned off the main highway onto the more minor one that would take me to Farmington. I passed through small towns that didn't have much to offer until I was on the real back roads. The roads around the small towns had a few too many trucks for me, with most going to and from local gravel pits but the ones further out were much nicer.

I don't understand these signs. I'm not going to think too much about it since I'm not likely to go above 20mph
Heart 2 Comment 0
Saw some little baby raccoons on the back roads today
Heart 2 Comment 0

The back roads into Farmington were hilly enough that I wasn't feeling great, I made it into town and stopped at a Dollar General to get a cold drink and restock. I needed a real rest and I wasn't going to get it if I stuck to my plan. I had a short day and stopped at Al's Bike Hostel in town.

This hostel was amazing, it had everything I needed, including real bedding and a foam roller for my sore muscles. My back and shoulders had been killing me today so I stretched them out good. Then I spent the afternoon resting up fully. Bigger milage days can come but it's no good if I get burnt out early.

Today's ride: 76 km (47 miles)
Total: 1,583 km (983 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0