Day 23: Sebree, KY to Cave-in-Rock, IL - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2023

Day 23: Sebree, KY to Cave-in-Rock, IL

Heart 2 Comment 0

I packed up once again and set off. Matt had told me that Cave in Rock was the best campground around. I set off with that as a minimum goal, and the idea that I could push on if I needed. It seemed like an easy day, but after adding up the milage it came to 90km so that's plenty enough for a goal.

The ride was peaceful and without too many hills. About the most eventful thing was at the top of one hill I saw a big old raccoon sitting up and looking at me while cleaning his paws. He scarpered away before I got a photo. The roads must be quiet because most people were home for the sunday or in church. By the time I got to Marion I noticed all of the businesses were closed so I pushed on through to the Ohio River.

I followed and passed an Amish buggie for the first time. He was making fairly good time but it was easy to keep up with him even on the uphills. I cruised past him on a downhill so I wouldn't frighten the horse and descended down to the Ohio River, hitting one of my first real headwinds as I got into the small flood plain.

While waiting for the Cave in Rock Ferry I got chatting to a guy on a Harley in front of me in queue about some of the roads in the area. He had ridden bicycles a fair amount but he was just doing a river loop for his day out on his Harley. He let me know that Illinois was going to be steeper than I expect but let me know some tips of where to avoid so that I get smooth roads.

Chugging across the Ohio river ferry into Cave-in-Rock, Illinois
Heart 4 Comment 0

Eventually the ferry started moving and I was across the river in Illinois. I decided I'd had enough cycling for the day and headed in nice and early to the campground. I thought it was a bit of a small day, because it wasn't even 1pm but I had already done 90km so that's enough for me.

The climb up to the campground was surprisingly steep, the host mentioned that one year in ~110°F temperatures a cyclist collapsed at the top of the hill and he had to cool him off with the hose. That cyclist ended up giving up on the spot, asking for a ride back over to Kentucky for the nearest airport. It's hot today, but at least there's plenty of shade.

I realised heading to the shower that the pair of shorts I always cycle in has a rip that's gonna get big pretty soon. I have another pair of casual shorts to wear but I got them online from Kmart and now that my thighs are growing they're barely going to fit. I think they'll do but I need to buy some more casual shorts. I'm not really wanting to wear my Lycra bibs on this trip, they're not as comfortable for me on the leather saddle and I prefer the casual running type shorts for off the bike.

The campground host let me know a shortcut through the woods to the park restaurant, which had a buffet. I went in about 3:30 and came out many platefuls later. Paying lunch prices and eating 2 meals in a sitting is a good way to recover from a days riding.

I bumped into an exhausted looking cyclist called Bruce who was looking for the lodge. He had just rejoined the trans am after heading out to Owensboro for some errands. I hope I bump into him again, not sure if he's going to be on the same schedule as me or not.

I wandered down to the famous Cave of Cave-in-Rock and wandered in. Legend says that pirates on the Ohio river would hang out in here to rob merchants floating downstream. It was cooler in the shade of the cave, so I can see why they'd hang around.

Looking back over to Kentucky, I liked it over there a lot more than I expected
Heart 3 Comment 0

I headed up into my campsite to watch some movies and have a bit of rest. Not much signal in this part of the country but that's okay. After I drifted off to sleep I heard a bike roll past. It was about 10pm and Yosef from yesterday was just showing up. I hope that guy has a rest day soon.

Today's ride: 90 km (56 miles)
Total: 1,282 km (796 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0