Day 22: Rest day in Sebree - NZ lad riding coast-to-coast in the US - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2023

Day 22: Rest day in Sebree

My hand was feeling a bit better but not perfect, and today was forecast to be even hotter than yesterday so I decided to rest a while longer and do some errands. The others all left before 7, which apparently was very early for them but it's good to beat the heat.

I don't have to hang stuff off the back of my bike to dry today
Heart 1 Comment 0

I did my washing, updated a few days of my journal that I'm running behind on, and planned a bit of the next few days. I went down to the local Mexican grocery/restaurant for some early dinner and to top up my tortillas and snacks. Tortillas are one of my main lunch items right now and they're so much easier to carry than bread. I might start making peanut butter tortillas for breakfast.

I was meaning to put new bar tape on my bike but I don't have any insulation tape to fix it in place so it's added to my list of things to get.

The brief amount of time I was outside I was sweating, so I think it's nice to be in the nice air conditioned hostel for today. I watched some movies and had a good time to myself.

Just as I was starting to pack up for the next day's ride, another rider pulled in. Yosef (sp?) from Florida came in around 7pm. He's doing this at only 21 years old so I'm impressed, I think the first thoughts of this trip came when I was that age. He wants to head to St. Louis so I shared some route info that I had since I'm headed up there to take the Katy Trail once I get to Missouri. 

I'm realising that even if I feel physically good to go that rest days are needed, so I'm going to make sure I set some maximum times between them. Tomorrow I'll head on to Illinois, across the Cave-in-rock ferry. I'm unsure how far I'll go after that but there's lots of campgrounds.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0