prologue - I'm as loose as a Type A person can be. - CycleBlaze

prologue

This has been an interesting summer that hasn't gone at all as planned. We started with a wonderful tour with five recumbent riders and a LHT.

The week long tour was to be a warm up for a tough one month tour in Colorado and New Mexico. On the last day of the tour, Jacinto received a phone call that his ailing 86 year old mother had taken a turn for the worst. We were on the road to Mexico with a two hour turn around. Plans for the big tour were scuttled.

Jacinto had a chance to spend time with his mother before she passed. It was and still is, tough for him.

We came home after two weeks of inactivity, plenty of eating, and too much crying. We questioned if Jacinto had the heart to tour this summer. He might be too sad to have fun. Plus, we now had legs of peanut butter from sitting instead of legs of steel from the warm up tour.

I am well known for planning far in advance. That works to our advantage many times as lodging prices seem to go up the closer it gets to summer. Yes, indeed. Lodging does go up in price in touristy Colorado if you plan at the last minute. Aspen was now $50. more. Salida was $60. more. Those numbers are hard on a bus driver's budget!

I wasn't sure how far to plan in advance with Jacinto's struggle over his mom's passing- thus my journal title. I've emailed with several people who do motel only trips. They seem to go with planning a few days in advance. I usually plan the entire trip - however long that may be. Yes, I'm a little Type A. I like to know what the plan is. I enjoy the planning part. I spend a great deal of time all winter digging around on CG and the internet, looking at routing and lodging.

OK - I can give this a try. I can do a last minute tour in familiar Colorado. Let's book a section and see how it goes. If it's fun, we'll book another week or two. If not, we will head home. Let's see if I can turn into a Type B person.

This will be the first tour in some time that we ride just the two of us. I tried to interest our good touring buddy Oren in the route. But he had canceled all of the rooms for the big trip and had made other plans. I couldn't blame him - at the time we canceled we had no idea what the rest of the summer would bring. By the time I was able to suggest the two week delayed start, he had already made plans for a week long tour in eastern Texas. Damn. Double damn. I seriously question what our tour will be like without Oren's wacky sense of humor. Who will keep me from making the wrong turn out of the motel parking lot? If I end up in Kansas - it's all Oren's fault for choosing Texas over Colorado!

Heart 0 Comment 2
Graham SmithHi Kelly,
It’s great to see you arrive here on CycleBlaze.
Welcome.
You are bringing both quality and quantity of cycle touring journalism with you.
Regards Graham
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Graham SmithGraham,

Thank you for your kind words. I have felt very welcome here. I can't wait to start a new CB only journal!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 4
David LundgrenKelly, I almost had a heart attack when you disappeared from that other place (though I can probably figure out why). Thank heaven you landed here. I have gotten more enjoyment out of your journals over the years than I can express. I hope to learn the story of the Big Exodus someday.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Michell IrvingHi Kelly,
I was not surprised you disappeared from that site "which will not be named" it took me about 10 minutes to find this group and your journals, I was looking forward to finishing up your journal describing your Thanksgiving tour in Tucson. I don't know if you remember me but I was your roomie in the Adventure Cycling leadership course in Boulder. Take care,
Michell
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezMichell -

I do remember you - what a great memory you have!

My Arizona journal should be showing up here soon - there's a recent back log of incoming journals, Jeff says. That was no surprise.

Everyone has been very welcoming here. I look forward to posting an entirely new journal here on CB.

Thank you for caring enough to search me out!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo David LundgrenDavid,

I enjoy writing the journals almost as much as riding the tours. On cold winter days, I like to go back and relive the summer's fun.

Thank you for looking for me here. My newer journals should be published soon. Stay tuned!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
3 years ago