The bikes: Surly LHT and a RANS Stratus XP in Aluminum, K frame - I'm as loose as a Type A person can be. - CycleBlaze

The bikes: Surly LHT and a RANS Stratus XP in Aluminum, K frame

You would think after 20 years of touring, our bike set up would be long done. Nope. We are still doing little tweaks here and there. The bikes themselves haven't changed in a number of years.

I've been a recumbent rider since 1998. I switched because I was done suffering from a sore butt. I had tried all of the lotions, seats, and seat positions, different shorts. It just wasn't happening for me. By the third day of a tour, I was in agony. I bought my first recumbent without seeing it or any recumbent in person. I just knew that big tractor size seat was for me!

Jacinto's solution to a sore butt is to stand up. The more pedaling he can do standing up, the happier he is. You should see his legs.

This morning we fiddled with the bikes, getting ready. I had purchased a spare set of Schwalbe Marathon Racer tires for the big trip. I debated installing them. The tires on the bike are pretty good. Maybe good enough for this abbreviated trip? Of course, if I shredded a tire half way up Independence Pass, I'd sure be cussing myself for being lazy now. I changed the rear tire this morning. I convinced myself to do that with the promise that I could leave home the folding tire. I know having new tires doesn't mean I won't need a spare tire, but I think the chances go way down. Plus, when I told Jacinto I'd decided not to take the spare tire, he put it in his pannier. Heck- maybe he would have carried it all of last trip also!

I took off one of the dry bags and backing plates. You can read about the backing plates by following the photo linked below. I had trouble last trip packing the 20L dry bags because I didn't have enough stuff to fill the bags up and they were saggy. I d0 have one 10 liter bag. Hmmm. I ended up putting all of the things I hope I don't need to use in that bag. My rain coat and cold weather gear, my tools and spare tubes. It would be okay with me if that bag doesn't get opened the entire trip!

Now I have that small dry bag on the rear rack and only one a 20L Sea to Summit Big River dry bag full of clothes and my computer. I have a seat bag with snacks. It really doesn't take much gear for a motel trip if you are willing to rinse clothes out each night.

My favorite pannier maker is Jandd, a California company. I've had any number of Jandd panniers over the years. They never wear out. I just have to admit I want new panniers instead of saying I need new panniers.

Jacinto has a set of Hurricane panniers on his bike. These are the old style without the cordura layer and are quite light weight for the size. They have an interesting lock system that clamps into place. Jacinto finds removing the panniers to be quite annoying when we are at a motel where we have to leave the bikes outside. What to do? We switched the panniers out to a Jandd model trunk rack with deployable panniers He gave up quite a bit of space, but likes the idea of four velcro straps to unhook. I have seen several versions of rack packs with built in panniers. Jandd managed to make theirs with a usable side pocket. Usually the pocket is totally lost to the storable pannier.

So - the bikes themselves stayed the same for the trip, but we both made luggage switches.

The photos linked below are from previous trips.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0