All Things Being Equal: Mosquito camp to Belgrade - Green Is The Colour - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2015

All Things Being Equal: Mosquito camp to Belgrade

There is no distances on road signs here. Combined with not having a map it feels a little inelegant. I can't surmise how far it is to Belgrade, apart from using my computer, knowing I did one-hundred and twenty kilometres yesterday, after starting the day with around three-hundred to Belgrade, I must be starting the day at the one-eighty mark, meaning I should, all things being equal, reach the city tomorrow afternoon.

A positive is I've met lots of club cyclists, perhaps a sign of a country being wealthy. I imagine back in the nineteen-fifties as more and more people in Europe could effort cars, the car became a measure of status. If you went around in a car you had money and were respectable. And if you continued to ride a bike, most assumed you were poor and looked down upon you. How things have changed. Lots of healthy sporting people cycling everywhere is a sign of an effluence country.

I'm on the road at twenty to nine following the small byroad where I left off the evening before, passing small fields of new mown hay, it's sweet wilting grass-smell fills the air; and brown fields with green rows of vegetables. In one I see an old couple bent over with hoes weeding. It would be nice to continue on this road all day but, after three kilometres, it passes under the rail-lines out onto the main highway.

I'm not long on the highway when I say to myself, I'm getting sick of meeting these convoys of one or maybe two leaden trucks trundling along with a queue of cars behind, then nearly always without fail, a truck traveling on empty comes bearing down from behind. A situation like a ramrod down a gun barrel with me in the barrel, in the way. There isn't a shoulder, though I've found the Serbian truck drivers to be courteous; always they slow and the road seems wide enough to accommodate them passing me, with a small but safe berth, on their own side. But nonetheless the situation is hairy.

I stop about ten at a roadside café for second breakfast, omelette with bacon and a big bap of bread. The cappuccino is more chocolate than coffee. The only other diners are two thirty-something men sat opposite each other and a third more senor man sat at the end of the same table talking constantly to them while simultaneously eating and smoking a cigarette as the other two passively listen. He takes a final draw on the cigarette, then stumps the butt out in an ashtray. One of the others speaks while he grabbles with a cigarette packet for a new cigarette, placing it in his mouth, lights-up and draws on it deeply, then continues talking and eating in a haze of blue smoke.

I'm glad to reach the large town of Cacak approaching midday wherein is a plethora of banks with ATMs as I'm running low of the two-thousand I withdrew yesterday. This time I withdraw 5000. Then as it's warm I sit down at one of the many cafes in the central pedestrian street and have a cold beer for 130.

Later on the way out of town I stop at a supermarket and surprising find a litre bottle of alcohol-etanol marked 96%. Then further by a roundabout while finding the right road on, there's a big service station on the corner. The thought that petrol stations shops usually stock road maps enters my head, so I turn off down onto the forecourt. Indeed there's a range of maps, even one for the whole of the former Yugoslavia at ten kilometres to a centimetre, the one I decide to buy. I order a coffee as I spread the map out over a table in the cafeteria in one side of the shop. I see now that Serbia is much bigger than I envisaged and calculate there's still about a hundred and thirty kilometres to Belgrade.

Setting off again and turning on to the right road at another roundabout I pass a signboard: Belgrade 137 km, so with fifty-one kilometres done I should be there tomorrow.

By six I find a campsite down a laneway, in a gateway into a hay-meadow and set up the tent sweating, take off my tee-shirt, such has been the heat this afternoon. And those mosquito-bites have made my shins itches.

At last distances. This is the second one I see.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tonight's free campsite.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In a village.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Notice the space these passing cars have given me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At this point there are no more "Centar" signs and I've to work out for myself which way to the city centre.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not sure about this. It may be a direct hit from the NATO airstrike in 1999.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Veg for dinner with a can of mixed kidney beans and corn in a mex-sauce, plus good bottle of Serbian red wine and a can of local beer for equivalent of six euros.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 185 km (115 miles)
Total: 4,574 km (2,840 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0