Desert Island Discs: Third Music Choice, with Comments on This Tour. - Green Is The Colour - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2015

Desert Island Discs: Third Music Choice, with Comments on This Tour.

KY: You have been round Europe on your bike and for me and I'm sure many of our listeners, I find it astonishing to have cycled so far. I have in my notes here, an accumulated distance of twenty-two thousand miles have passed under your wheels. What many of us cannot fathom, how does one ride a bike such a distance.

SK: Kirsty, you're so generous, what you didn't mention is, it has taken me over two years to ride that distance. I'm a slow rider (Laugh).

KY: Alright then, but what I'm really getting at here is, how is it physically possible. Many out there ride short distances to the shops occationally and find that arduous enough.

SK: It isn't complicated (laugh). After day one riding from morning to late afternoon, of course you're going to feel knackered, naturally, you're only human. You'll feel physically tire the next morning too. But by day three or four, you'll be feeling less tired. Riding a bike daily will be training your body to ride further over time. Of course I take a couple of rest days a week.....

KY: (to listeners) If you have just tuned in, my Desert Island Discs guest this morning is touring cyclist Sean Kane. (to me) You're also an author.

SK: Well, I try to be

KY: I have read your journals and I'm a fan. And we'll get round to talking about them later, but its time for more music. What have you got for us now?

SK: I've chose Cat Stevens-Tea For The Tilleman. No other reason than I downloaded it a few years ago and would listen to it over and over again.

KY: So I want to compartmentalize your touring and concentrate on the past eight months. You set off cycling from Ireland in February and reach Sicily in July, having included the Former Yugoslavia on the way. And now you're in Madrid, having cycled all the way. Can I ask you, what is your favourite country? or even favourite place.

SK: That's a difficult question, Kirsty. Couldn't you think up some easy question for me to answer.

Well let me see. You have put me on the spot, but, the simple answer is, every country I've passed through I've enjoyed. The people have been great. I like the language differences, even though I don't know what they are saying most of the time, and cultural changes from country to country. It's what makes Europe so interesting. France is very familiar to me. It was my first serious tour in Italy. Its a tough country to cycle from north to south, unless you have lots of maps covering the regions, which I hadn't, just one for the whole country showing principal roads; but with better maps, I presume, it's possible to find small back roads; though, having said that, there are areas so mountainous, there seems no alternative apart from major roads. Otherwise, Italy is a gem. The south and Sicily especially, and wish, I'd spent more time there.

KY: So Italy is your favourite.

SK: Maybe. But again, I find it hard singling out a country or place. I haven't mentioned the Former Yugoslavia, which was great to cycle also. And, I cannot really put into words, but I think I've grown inside, in my heart and soul. I now feel a greater desire to be around people than I had in the past.

KY: It appears to me you've had a good time. And you are off tomorrow to cycle tour in South America. I gather you've started a new journal for it.

SK: Yes. I though it only right to begin with a clean sheet, rather than join together what is essentially two tours in one journal.

KY: And a title?

SK: All will be revealed.

KY: Which takes us to your next music choice.

SK: Yes. The Foo Fighter's cover of Have A Cigar.

KY: Any particular reason?

SK: It is my favourite song from Pink Floyd's Wish You Were Here, album, and, The Foo Fighters have recreated it their own way.

KY: Lets have a listen then.

Link to continue: www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/mytour2015-16

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0