Introduction - Travels with Little Debbie - CycleBlaze

Introduction

January 3rd, 2018: This journal was originally written during a three-month bike tour in 2008 that produced major - and very unexpected - changes in my life. The entries were written and uploaded each day after riding, using a heavy laptop I carried in my rear left pannier. I'm going to try to resist the urge to go back and improve, or otherwise edit any of this, except to correct broken links, misspellings, and stuff like that.

---

Hi, I'm Jeff Lee! You might remember me from such previous journal entries as "Bike touring, 95+ degree temperatures and fried shrimp: A deadly combination", and "Increase the fun of riding a heavy bicycle over the Rockies, by fracturing your wrist"

This time, I plan to ride from St. Augustine, Florida to somewhere in Maine. Then, if I'm not too tired, I might ride west to Washington. I'll be following Adventure Cycling's Atlantic Coast and Northern Tier routes.

I'm going to do a few things differently on this tour. The biggest change is my plan to camp more often - at least half the time, and hopefully more often than that. Of course, I reserve the right to throw that idea out the window, and indulge my love of (hopefully cheap) motels when I feel like it.

To facilitate the more-camping plan, I'm using a different tent. My tent from last time was the "single wall" type, and suffered from major condensation inside the tent. This time I'm using a tent with a rainfly, and so far I like it a lot more than my old one. The tent is a loaner from fellow CrazyGuy Joy Santee - Thanks, Joy!

I spent a week or so trying to come up with a clever title for this journal, but, alas, ended up with "Travels with Little Debbie" (with apologies to John Steinbeck). Some rejected titles: "Midlife Crisis Bike Tour: The Sequel", "Unprepared Guy On A Bike", and "Crossing the Country for No Apparent Reason."

Gear list. I'll be taking this printout with me - I'll need it to remember where all the stuff goes. Obviously, laboring to produce this neat, computer-generated, laminated printout is the wisest use of my last few hours before the trip begins.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The back side of the gear list
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0