Introduction - Levi’s Road to Damascus - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2022

Introduction

Welcome! 

I’m Levi, an ambitious new bike tour boy.

After reading some journals on CycleBlaze, and loosely planning this tour for a few months, I plan to document my journey here. I will be heading out Sunday, May 29th.

Heading north from my cozy home in Bowing Green, Kentucky, I will connect to United States Bicycle Route 76 (better known as the TransAmerica Route) and riding this route east until I hit Damascus, Virginia.

[For those of you that haven’t heard of the TransAmerica Route and are reading this just out of your own interest in what I’m doing, I am sorry to say that the appropriately named route is not affiliated with transgenderness (though, that’s not to say it shouldn’t be). For those of you that don’t know me personally but are just here to read about my cycling adventures, I am a transgender man. For those of you that do not fall into either categories, what are you doing here? How did you find me? I suppose you can hang around… ]

Once I reach Damascus, I’ll drop south to Boone, North Carolina. After visiting my good pal Carissa in Boone, I’ll make my way through the Cumberland Gap into Middlesboro, Ky and continue north by jumping on USBR 21. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

I’d love to keep going, making various stops around Kentucky. (See below, a very ugly rough draft of the complete route)

Heart 1 Comment 0

The only thing stopping me from riding this dream route to completion is money! I’m not sure how much I would need to keep on truckin’, but I do know I’ll likely need more than the humble touring amount of $500 I’ll be rolling out with.

With the amount I currently have, I plan to camp as many nights as possible and cook most of my food with my handy little camp stove in order to hold out on spending money unless I absolutely have to (i.e. food and bike repairs… showers aren’t important haha). Any money donated would guarantee that I have enough for food, repairs, and the occasional Hotel/Motel (guaranteed shower!).  

If you’d like to see me pedal to my heart’s content please feel free to donate money:)

My Venmo: @Levi-Hanson-7

Gofundme: https://gofund.me/8e2f34fb


Why am I doing this, you ask? Follow me on my journey to find out. I’ll be posting daily once I hit the road. I’m anxious to get going!

Until then,

Levi :)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jeff LeeGood luck on your trip, Levi. I look forward to reading your journal and following along!

Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago