UPDATES: Past 10 days! - Levi’s Road to Damascus - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2022 to June 11, 2022

UPDATES: Past 10 days!

I want to try to start updating this daily again so I’ll do this quick, very brief, update from Day 6 to Day 14:

Day 6: Lexington, Ky to Falmouth, Ky

59.95 miles; 5:17:50 Ride time; 11.3 Ave MPH

This was an emotionally hard day for me. I finally realized how hard/unsafe it was to navigate off-route. I was not familiar with roads and used a mixture of Ride With GPS and Google Maps- MISTAKE. I would come to learn that my other cyclist friends ran into the same problem. 

My good pal Alli came to rescue me from Falmouth and drove us to her place in Covington, Ky. I stayed here for two days. 

I want to write lots about this experience, but for now you will get pictures.

Sweet Kelly and I
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fossil Findin’ !!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like coral fossil. Possibly a chunk of a horn coral. It seems they are quite common in many limestone formations. I have dozens of specimens mostly found in creek beds running through limestone.

https://www.britannica.com/animal/horn-coral
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Disco Night in Flip Flops
Heart 1 Comment 0

Day 7–10: Not much riding

I tried to bike out of Covington, Ky on Day 8, but only made it 20 miles. I biked to Good Pal Kelly!’s place in Independence, Ky. This turned into a very fun time. Good Pal Autumn!! drove from Louisville to pick me up. Again, I want to write lots but you will get pictures for now. 

Kelly’s father and I
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gotta get some Goetta in Northern Ky!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Love me some Autumn!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Day 9-10: Best Friend’s Parents House in Louisville, Ky 

Donna and Tim!!! It was so cool to get to know these folks better. I had a blast hanging with Tim all day and hearing his plans for their property; fruit trees, bee keeping, PET garden (Peppers, Eggplants, Tomatoes), trail maintenance and so much more. The life advice I received was a bonus. Again, pictures now full updates later. 

The beehives and fruit trees
Heart 1 Comment 0

Day 11: Louisville, Ky to Brandenburg, Ky 54.38 Miles; 5:53:20 ride time; 9.2 ave mph

We picked up my friend, Sabre, and met up with the friends I met in Berea! 

Sabre and Pippin!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing pedestrian bridge from Kentucky to Indiana
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our setup for the night
Heart 0 Comment 0

Day 12: Brandenburg, Ky to Falls of Rough, Ky 69.28 miles; 9.2 Ave MPH; 7:29:13 ride time

Sabre and I split off from friends and made our way down south to connect to the TransAm.

Bread wheat 🌾
Heart 0 Comment 0
Never Uphill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rough River Dam
Heart 0 Comment 0

Day 13: Falls of Rough, Ky to Utica, Ky

45.94 Miles; 9.3 Ave Mph; 4:53:58 ride time

First warmshowers stay of the trip. Angelica and Jo are so welcoming! A little slice of fun and safety in the middle of Kentucky! They took Sabre and I out on the town. An absolute blast! I’m excited to update y’all on this one later.

Got caught in some rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltDay lilies! They are edible. Now naturalized all over the US, they came from Europe, brought over as a known food source likely originally from Asia.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylily
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Owensboro riverfront
Heart 0 Comment 0
Angelica and Jo!! Cuties!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Day 14: Utica, Ky to Sebree, Ky

27.42 Miles; 9.8 MPH; 2:47:31 Ride Time 

Sabre and I had a shorter day. We heard about the cyclist hostel in Sebree and decided we would make it there to unwind and plan our next day. 

We originally were planning on biking down to Pilot Rock, outside of Hopkinsville, but heard something about river pirates? and are excited to push on to Cave-in-Rock! 

I’ll try to update daily from here on out, and I do plan to write full entries on all the days I’ve included in this entry. 

Thank y’all for keeping up with me! And thank you to the folks who have donated!!

See you tomorrow :)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0