Day 3: Springfield, Ky to Berea, Ky - Levi’s Road to Damascus - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2022

Day 3: Springfield, Ky to Berea, Ky

83.10 miles; 8:22:16 Ride time; 9.9 Ave MPH

A LONG day. I wasn’t sure if I could make the trek to Berea. I’ll start off in order…

The morning started off incredibly pleasant. I’m so happy I’m able to make my own (instant) coffee. I’ve packed a container of ghee with me and have recently discovered what ghee and coffee taste like. If you like black coffee, you may enjoy this. It makes for a toasty cup.  

As I was almost finished packing up my gear, a Morning Park Walker decided to stroll my way and casually sit next to me. I wasn’t upset by this- I found his way about approaching me very funny. I didn’t get his name, but I know he has been retired for quite some time and recently  moved from Denver, CO a month ago to buy a house near Springfield, KY. A kind sir.

I was very pleased to be biking out of the park by 8:30. The next 30 miles were BEAUTIFUL! Rural roads for THIRTY. MILES. I felt an overwhelming sense of love and appreciation that I’m able to do something like this. Another best day coming. 

I decided early on that I might be able to bike to Berea… making an 80 mile day. The thought of another 80 mile day made me very nervous. I’m still learning to listen to my body, but also… I want to go far and I want to go fast. 

I decided to eat a proper breakfast after 30 miles, in Harrodsburg, then push on. [At convenient stores, when I stop to buy things like Gatorade and lotsa milk, I’ve learned I can ask for hot water for my quick oats mix- a speedy meal that doesn’t require me pulling out my camp stove.]

As I’m climbing out of Herrington Lake, I encountered westbound cyclist Jaz Ashby! Jaz is from the United Kingdom, so when asking how he spells his name I was slightly thrown off with the the British pronunciation of ‘Z’ (just, google it). 

We talked about the joys of cycling: all the emotions you experience in life condensed down to a shorter period; feeling doubtful and then being blissed out by scenery… This was such a pleasant interaction and I’m happy to keep in touch with him. 

It feels like a funny thing to me, how I want to write about this trip so that I can look back and remember it, but also so I can try and tell folks a story about why traveling by bike is so riveting, but the parts I really want to share with y’all are things I can’t convey through text. I wish you were with me, if even for a moment! 

Okay, so I’m pushing forward, getting tired, starting to doubt abilities but then reminding myself how capable humans are and I am human so, by default, I am capable. 

I finally got into some major climbs (not sure the grades, but definitely a mile+ of straight UP with my tired legs pedaling at 3 mph), and on the very last worst climb-of-the-day I began to think about how dangerous this particular clip of the route felt when an -almost- wreck occurred behind me. A motorist heading the opposite direction came back up the hill incredibly quick to check on me; I thought he was the one that could’ve been potentially hurt but, according to him, the car following up the hill behind me was driving on the wrong side of the road. It was a little stressful but all was well and no injuries 👍 

Please don’t hound me about this: 

turns out, I was actually not even on route. I was unknowingly “lost.” Drivers weren’t exactly used to cyclist on that horrible hill. Whatever. I made it to Berea, a little pissed off and very hungry. 

I was told, months ago, how I need to eat at Papa Lenos when in Berea. I beelined my way through the tiny town to this restaurant. I believe it was about 7pm by the time I rolled in. 

Some fun synchronicities started happening: right before I rolled into Berea (when I was on the “wrong” road) I was admiring the view and houses from the ridge I was riding atop, dreaming about what it would be like to grow up in this exact place. I had the fun thought, “A writer would live in a place like this. What if one of these homes belonged to the late bell hooks? Hmm. I’d never know 🤷🏻‍♂️.” Fast forward, I’m waiting for my food at Papa Lenos and I decide to step outside, which pushed me into the path of a Friendly Stranger. Sweet Mary Beth Bonet! Mary Beth talked to me for awhile and, come to find out, she was Gloria Watkins (bell hooks) NEIGHBOR. NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOR. She pointed me towards their homes. 

[bell hooks, an established writer, Kentuckian, and professor at Berea College, is largely the reason I decided to organize this Kentucky-centric bike tour. Inspired by her, I desperately want to create an experience that has me feeling connected to my home state.]

As I walk back in the restaurant, a very friendly someone stops to ask me about my high-visibility vest. Turns out this person, along with two other friends, are bikers too! Riding from Virginia to Oregon! They chose the free option of camping at the fire station so I decided to follow them for the night. I mentioned to them how I was taking the day off tomorrow to explore Berea and, would you guess? They are too! 

I shall tell you so very much about these people, tomorrrow :)

pst, pst, pst! [image description: a tiny little bob-tailed black cat]
Heart 2 Comment 0
Herrington Lake
Heart 2 Comment 0
I loved the shelf mushroom protecting this posted sign
Heart 2 Comment 0
A neat cycling shelter!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The cows that would potentially be watching you shower naked at the bike rest
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
bell hooks way
Heart 2 Comment 0
The night crew firefighters were not pleased with us for some reason? Here’s our setup!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 83 miles (134 km)
Total: 218 miles (351 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0