Day 73 Ennis MT to Alder Mt - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2023

Day 73 Ennis MT to Alder Mt

The temperature today is predicted to be in the nineties again so I wanted to leave early even though it’s a short ride day. The route includes an eight mile steep hill that many have moaned about. I wanted to leave at seven, expected to leave by 7:30 but actually left at eight. 

The climb began about three and a half miles from camp. I made it to the summit in an hour and Forty-two minutes. A funny thing happens on long climbs; it seems I get into a rhythm and the climb gets easier. It always surprises me as I don’t have a lot of climbing experience and don’t consider myself climber. But I’d take climbing over wind any day. 

I ate a snack and drank at the top; I met a British  cycle tourer going east and as I started to descend , a man from Iowa who started in San Francisco. Both were following their own route. Then it was an easy descent all the way to Alder but I stopped in Virginia City where Peter and Henry caught up with me. We had some ice cream, then I continued the joyous downhill to the Ruby River RV Park. 

View to the east as I was starting out
Heart 4 Comment 2
Nancy HornikStunning picture!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Julie O’NeillThis photograph is riveting.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
View from the lookout about 3 miles from the summit
Heart 1 Comment 0
     

 Peter was just about to grill a steak for dinner when a storm suddenly blew through. We rushed to take down the awning and fold the outside chairs. This was not in the weather prediction. The winds were incredibly forceful. We decided to go to the restaurant in town and had a nice meal at Chick’s Restaurant and Bar.  Now we’re relaxing, trying to figure out the best route home from Missoula. 


Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 2,657 miles (4,276 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Nancy HornikThis post made me smile. Time management was NEVER your strong suit! Just another reason why I love you! I so enjoy following your journey. You will have stories and memories to last you a lifetime.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John ChimahuskyYou’re where we were several weeks ago. The hill between Ennis and Virginia City is a doozie. I would say it was one of the four or five hardest climbs on our tour. Hope you’re having a great ride! We’re only a day away from the Pacific!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Steve HurlbutYou’re on the tail end! Keep on trucking Messy Missy!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ed SpeareUsed to go to Virginia City with visiting relatives for a day trip. Always a good time when we were kids!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo John ChimahuskyAfter reading your account of that “hill”, I decided to position myself so I could do it in the morning before the winds kick up. You did it near the end of a long day with headwinds. I’m a wind weenie as was clear on the two passes to Jackson.
I considered taking the Lewis & Clark trail to the Pacific Coast trail to head home to Washington but your journal refreshed my memory of the wind in the gorge, so I’m devising an alternate route home. Thanks so much to you and Ed. Your journal was very helpful to me as well as enjoyable! Happy trails!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Nancy HornikThat’s why I had Mrs Hornik- to keep me on track! BYW I was never late to work once I had to catch a ferry!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Steve HurlbutNose to the ground, stay calm and pedal on.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Ed SpeareI could see that it would be really fun for kids!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago