Day 51 Stoneham CO to Briggsdale CO - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2023

Day 51 Stoneham CO to Briggsdale CO

We both got up early today. The plan was to load up the trailer and Peter would drop me off at 8 am at Stoneham to continue yesterdays ride and hopefully get somewhere near Ault. When Peter tried to disconnect the water hose after following the instructions for the newfangled anti frost water outlet, we had a geyser. He tried to turn it off but wasn’t able. I knocked on the door of our neighbors, thinking they knew how to operate the water outlet but theirs had a diverter valve attached that they simply hooked up to. With Peter and Kenny alternating covering the valve with their hand and Dawn texting the owner and then their future son-in-law joining the effort, they managed to get a hose screwed back on and run it to the sewer outlet. Finally a man came by who works for the owner and shut off the water. Needless to say, Kenny, Peter and the young man were totally drenched. But everyone was laughing. We were truly fortunate to have such fun and helpful neighbors! 

Slightly flooded campsite
Heart 1 Comment 0
How many guys does it take to contain a geyser?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillSuch a guy thing 😂😂
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleAnd that water was really cold! But they were laughing!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
On the way to Stoneham. A wee bit windswept?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Susan WelchOne of the very best photos — amazing!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltWow.....I'd say that building is windswept!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago


It was after 9:00 when I finally got started. After a while the wind picked up and I had various versions of headwind. The route was a gradual elevation of about a thousand feet with lots of long rollers along the way. My average speed went from 11-12 mph down to 9 mph and that was a struggle. Just training, Sandy. Training for what’s to come. 

The grasslands were very peaceful so I just hunkered down. I stopped at the Pawnee Station restaurant in New Raymer to get a cranberry juice. My butt bones were already hurting so I put on a second pair of shorts. I was desperate. And it actually helped! Maybe I could refine this technique and figure out which pairs of shorts go best together. The double bubblebutt technique. I have switched out my seat, played with the angle, switched positions,  varied the pelvic tilt, concentrated on keeping my pelvis stationary and using my core, using every brand of hoo ha cream I can find and I’m still plagued with pain in the butt. I think I need a very strategic adipose transplant. 
As I was approaching Briggsdale, I ran into another bike tourer, Warren. It turns out he’s from Bellingham, our closest city back home. He lost his job and has been touring for ? a couple years. He talks really fast and is very funny. Could be some standup comic talent there or mental illness. They seem to overlap a lot. I enjoyed talking to him! You rock Warren!

Warren from Bellingham WA. Small world.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAlways fun to run into other touring cyclists (or local bicyclists, for that matter!) when out bike touring. :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I continued past Briggsdale and was hoping to make it to Ault but suddenly Peter was there to pick me up. Due to it being 4th of July weekend, we couldn’t get a campsite in Fort Collins so we’re camping for 3 nights in Rustic CO, about halfway to Cameron Pass. There is no Wi-Fi or cell service. That’s why Peter showed up early. Oh well. Go with the flow. 

We dropped my bike off at the Trek dealer in town for a new chain and cassette. I went to REI and got some new bike shoes. I’ll wait to put spd cleats on after I make sure they fit. 

We ate at the restaurant at the Glen Echo campground. Decent food. Excellent cherry pie!

Overall good day. I’m still loving this but concerned about the upcoming climbs. I want to split it into basically 2 days with a short climb to the summit on the third day. We basically live at sea level and I have to remind myself of my advanced age even though I’m still eight years old in my brain. 

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 1,984 miles (3,193 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Julie O’NeillDig deep (you always do). You have a plan, it's a good one. And you can modify it as you like. This is your ride, your adventure, your dream. I know you can do it. Hugs (virtually from me) and great ideas like double bubble butt-ing are gonna get you over these new "hills!"
🤗🤗🤗
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Sandy EarleTo Julie O’NeillThanks Julie. I just saw this comment. We’ll see how it goes when I can bike again. Hopefully soon.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Julie O’NeillTo Sandy EarleSending lots of thoughts, and those virtual 🤗
Reply to this comment
9 months ago