Day 50 Sterling CO to Stoneham CO - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2023

Day 50 Sterling CO to Stoneham CO

I started out today with clear skies before me and very ominous skies behind me. It was a crisp, cool morning. The rumble strips bore evidence of the rain last night. The road was slightly rolling with one mile plus climb topping out at 6%. Leaving the Sterling area there was birdsong in the occasional trees. 

The skies were beautiful
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is my road to Walden with a few side steps through Fort Collins.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Suddenly the skies to the west became very dark. Meanwhile, behind me, the horizon was clearing. I felt like I’d done a 180 flip. I checked my phone and saw severe weather warnings/ take shelter. I was ten miles from New Raymer but approaching Stoneham. Turning towards the tiny town, I saw a church near the highway. There were several cars parked in front of Church of the Plains, so I thought perhaps they were having a prayer meeting. I called  Peter and we both looked at the weather radar. It was apparent that there were many cells headed my way and the weather pattern was going to continue for several hours. I decided to bag it. If I didn’t have the luxury of a sag, I could see if the bar in town, about a half mile down a soggy gravel road, was open and wait there until the weather passed then try to make it to the campground. The church actually was locked so that wasn’t an option. Or I could knock on someone’s door and ask if I could hunker down in their barn. 

The rain turned to a deluge as Peter arrived. I put the bike in the bed of the pickup and we returned to the trailer. I was totally drenched. 

By late afternoon the skies cleared. I’d like to be on my bike but will wait until tomorrow. I used the time to call bike shops in Fort Collins to get my chain and cassette replaced. The first few shops will be closed until July 5th or 6th. And they’re very backed up. The Trek shop was more welcoming. So I’ll try to get La Tortuga to them tomorrow. 

We hung out a bit with the family camping next to us. Kenny is semiretired. He lost his lower leg in the oilfield but has an incredibly positive attitude. He bikes to work even in winter. He worked as a scrub tech but had to retire after a severe infection in his stump prevented him from standing for long hours. Dawn, his wife, is a retired nurse who worked in NICU as well as cardiology. Their daughter, future son-in-law, and another friend are here as well. 

The day was disappointing but the evening skies were beautiful. 

Part of the menagerie
Heart 1 Comment 0
9 week old puppy
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAww - - cute puppy!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peaceful night
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 1,948 miles (3,135 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Julie O’NeillJinx!? I should not have wished you good weather. CO is always ready to serve up wild skies.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago