Day 27 Vandalia IL to east of Edwardsville - Still 8 years old in my brain - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2023

Day 27 Vandalia IL to east of Edwardsville

Late start today as Peter ran into another cyclist while walking Henry. Laurent is from Lyon France and is cycling from Los Angeles to NYC. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

He had lots of questions about the best route to New York City but I couldn’t help him much. Wish we had met last night when we had more time. 

It was a little over 5 miles to Vandalia. I missed a turn and ended up climbing a steep hill with a brick street. Wahoo made me correct my course so it ended well. There were some very nice buildings in Vandalia and a downtown that appeared to be doing well. 

I think this was called the State House
Heart 3 Comment 0
Downtown Vandalia
Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltVandalia looks like a nice clean town! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
I saw this house on the way out of town. It just made me smile.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThe owner of the house likes to put red accents around the yard - it looks nice and stands out! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I got on good old US40 and after a while came upon another Road Closed sign. So of course I ignored it. There were no construction workers and the three bridges they were building were close to completion and easily passable on bike. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just as I was enjoying US40 all to myself, the route turned on to SR140 which was in dire need of resurfacing. The route passed through several small towns.  Mulberry Grove had some great old trees. 

This one appeared to have had some recent storm damage
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Stately old farmhouse in Smithboro
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pastoral view beyond the farmhouse
Heart 3 Comment 0
Near Greenville
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ok. This is weird. Outside Greenville IL if you’re interested.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillThat is VERY weird!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltYea, I don't think I've ever seen a sign for "pet preservation"!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

In Alhambra, I turned onto the Nickel Plate Rail Trail after encountering these two brothers:

They’re Yorkshire terriers with matching haircuts
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltVery cute Yorkshire terriers! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Trumpet vine at the trail head
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nickel Plate trail
Heart 1 Comment 2
Julie O’NeillI am so glad you are off the highway! And that you made it across the bridges under construction.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltAlways nice to ride on a bike trail! :) :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

      

Cheerful thistles
Heart 2 Comment 0

After about ten miles, I had a flat. It was hot and extremely humid. Since I didn’t have anyone to help, I turned my bike upside down. I’ve never done this before so it was rather disorienting. Then I remembered all my tire stuff was in the handlebar bag. Flip it back, get tools and tube. My new never used pump was in the pannier. Got the tube replaced and tried to pump it up but the pump kept falling apart near the tubing. It’s a Lezyme pump so how could it break when it’s never been used. I took everything out of the pannier looking for possibly another part that might have fallen off in the bag. By now I’m really frustrated. There were no riders on the trail who might gave a pump. I finally called Peter and asked for a pick up as it was getting late. While I was waiting for Peter to come, I went through the handlebar bag completely and found a CO2 cartridge and inflated the tire and replaced it on the bike. I cleaned up my stuff strewn all over. Looked like nothing happened. 

We’re staying in a motel tonight as there are no nearby campgrounds. I’m so excited to sleep in a king size bed!

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 1,012 miles (1,629 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Julie O’NeillGood job on the tire change : ) You earned the big, comfy bed!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Charmaine RuppoltGood work on finally getting the tire changed! Good thing you had the C02 cartridge! Hope you were able to get the pump working for the future!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago