Vjosa Guest House to Permet - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2023

Vjosa Guest House to Permet

Yours truly actually detoured and will have to back track about 20 miles. I detoured to Permet which is the complete opposite direction of the coast 😂 I had read in another blog that the mountain scenery was nice.  Wow!!! Was it ever!  See for yourself after a bit more commentary.)

My legs were tired this morning and I really struggled the first 13 miles. A bunch of smaller little hills, plus the heat/humidity, had me questioning if my detour was a good idea.  I saw there were a few options for hotels if I needed to stop so went for it.  Tons more climbing, but all very gentle (except for a couple 10% grades someone thought would be funny to mix in).   I kept wondering, I wonder if I am up high enought in the mountains now that there are bears lurking nearby.  I kept an eye out but didn't see any.  Ha ha.

Heart 0 Comment 0
This looks amazing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
At one of the cafes that caters to tourists. Needed a long break here early on, but with the view, why not?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm crossing that bridge over yonder and onto quiet country roads
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Although the road is narrow, traffic is light. It's beautiful!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love when there's cold water randomly coming out of a wall. Got my buff wet again. Wearing it around my neck to try and keep cool
Heart 0 Comment 0
That wall is actually a sheet of water running down it. The dog in the pic is an added bonus.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dragoti Bridge. It was very cool looking.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The water in this section of the river is really muddy looking. I'm guessing from all the rain yesterday.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That might be the second 10% climb in the distance. Thankfully, short, but I wasn't too happy about it nonetheless.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's hard to capture the beauty around me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I got to the town of Kelcyre I stopped at the first market I came across for cold drinks and ice cream.  I was sitting on the ledge, but the owner ended up bringing me out a chair to sit in.  So nice.  I had thought I might go to a cafe, but ended up just having lunch in the parking lot/under the tree.

Lunch view. See the ruins at the top?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was actually doing much better in this section than I thought I would until this lunch break and then I belched the whole way to my hotel 😂  What the heck?  I am going to scare the goats!  And also, the heat was getting to me which wasn't helping things.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The water is a prettier color now
Heart 0 Comment 0
Let's add some golden tones to all this green.
Heart 0 Comment 0
But stop rest break! It was shade!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glory's tired too even though he doesn't do anything
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am about a mile walk to the little town, but just stuck with a hotel right off the highway to keep things simple.  Taking a rest day tomorrow.  I have totally earned it!!  I only went 34 miles, but it took me all day because I needed longer breaks early on.

After I showered, rested and got cooled down I went ahead and walked into town.  There was a nice walkway above the river and people were out and about.  I bought more data for my phone to get me through this last week.  Eventually, I walked back.  Should sleep good tonight.

Home sweet home!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 842 miles (1,355 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0