Training - The No Way So Hey Tour - CycleBlaze

October 13, 2017

Training

I’m sitting in the railway station. Got a ticket for my destination….

Last night I stayed up late to watch my Nats defeat the Cubs in the baseball playoffs. They were behind by one run in the top of the ninth when the cable channel went dark.  NOOOO!!!!!

The Nats lost. At least I didn’t have to endure watching the final three outs.  I had fun watching baseball this year. I attended about a dozen games. April can’t come soon enough.

This morning I rode to the Amtrak station from my hotel during a break in the rain. The road leading to the train was flooded, a fitting coda to my days here in Florida. The Mule is going to get beaucoup maintenance when it gets home. The cables and bolts and nuts are rusted. The chain has been exposed to blowing sand for two weeks. The Mule just has to make it from Union Station to my house and this trip will be finito.

To celebrate the end of the tour I drank my emergency water bottle. I carried it from the start in a front pannier. I’ll probably eat the last energy bar too. 

I’ve never ridden a long distance train before. It’s supposed to arrive before 3 pm tomorrow. I’m in no hurry. 

The local intrastate trains have roll on bike cars. Like in Stockholm and Sydney. Florida, there’s hope for you yet. 

My cheapo bike gloves are soggy and torn. A good sign of a long bike tour is when you gloves die a hero. Like a broken bat that provides a game winning hit.

It will feel strange to be speeding past the landscape that I covered at 10 – 12 miles per hour. 

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 2,182 miles (3,512 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0