Heading South to Home - The No Way So Hey Tour - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2017

Heading South to Home

The day was taken up by a long train ride. I wondered why the train takes about 25 hours to go from Ft. Lauderdale to DC. The reason is that instead of going straight up the coast, it criss crosses Florida. I should have packed some food for the trip. I subsisted on Cafe Car food, mostly hot dogs.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I managed to get about 4 hours of sleep. I could have gotten more but for the chatterboxes sitting in the row behind me.

When I got to DC it was a simple matter to take my bike from the conductor in the baggage car. My checked bag contained my tent, sleeping pad, clothes, bike shoes, and one big pannier. One of my small panniers was nested in the other big pannier as a carry on. I also carried on the second small pannier and my handlebar bag.

My front tire had a slow leak since Key West. It was quite soft when I was all loaded up so I took the bike to the Bike Station run by Bike and Roll just outside Union Station. They let me fill up the tire with air and a water bottle with water. And away I rolled.

My sore ribs were giving me a hard time. Every bump caused a jolt to my chest. I stopped to take a picture a few miles from home and the pain almost kept me from dismounting. I am considerably thinner than when I started this tour a month ago.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Riding the bike on familiar ground, proved two things to me. First, this bike was a tank, And, second, I am a MUCH stronger bike rider than when I started.

After a final 15 1/2 miles from DC to Mount Vernon ,Virginia, I made it home. For the entire tour, door-to-door mileage was 2,127.5 miles.

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 2,198 miles (3,537 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0