Algoma - Cleveland, WI - The Only Thing Fast On This Tour Is The Ferry - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2021

Algoma - Cleveland, WI

Heart 1 Comment 0

Jacinto and I had to barter over the alarm time. I needed to get out the door earlier to ride with AD. Thus, I wanted an earlier alarm. Jacinto said I could just get ready faster.  You mean, give up my now learned habit of lounging around and easing into my morning? Now I'm supposed to jump up and get dressed straight away?

The alarm stayed the same, 7:30. I was out the door at 9:29, barely on time. Jacinto is teaching me bad habits. Two hours to get out the door! 

AD and I have never ridden together. We had several discussions about expectations while riding. He likes to start early and stop for lunch. I'm pretty sure our 9:30 start time was not as early as he'd like. AD hadn't picked out a lunch stop, but he wanted one. 

I emphasized that I'm a 10 mph rider. Truly. I'm not being modest. AD said he would ride with me, and he might 'kick his horse' and then wait for me down the road. The 'kick his horse' phrase tickled Jacinto's funny bone. Remember the friendly man who thought Jacinto was struggling because he was riding standing up? I told Jacinto the next person who comments, Jacinto can just say he is kicking his horse.

I told AD I liked being the caboose - if I fade off the back, it's probably because I'm taking a photo or two. But I should catch back up.  AD did a good job modulating his speed to match mine. The first ten miles went by quickly. We were on 42 going out of town, but it was pleasantly empty. Before I knew it, we were in Kewaunee. We were on several versions of Lake Shore Drive today and they were indeed on the lake. We saw more lake today than we've seen most of the trip. We had unobstructed views -which was extra nice. I especially enjoyed them at the beginning of the trip, before the wind started blowing. But that is later - let's talk about now. 

The morning was delightful. We saw touring cyclists riding our direction. A lot of them. None were inclined to talk. Finally curiosity got the better of me and I crossed the road and stopped right in front of a hapless man. He had to talk! They were a group of 16 riders, all friends who had started at someone's house. They were on a four day ride. 

Curiosity satisfied, I caught back up to AD, who had stopped to wait. Part of my reason for stopping was to ask about signs we had been seeing for a Bridge Out. The cyclist told me that we would have no problems getting through and that they got through except they had to ride on gravel. OK. On we went, past the road closed sign. Past another road closed sign. At mile 20, guess what? The road was really closed. The bridge was missing. Construction workers were working . . .  it looks like we would be rerouting. For a reroute, it was easy. We went back .2 miles and then went left, left, and finally right. It added about two miles to our day. It could have been worse. 

Mentally, that tipped the scale a little. It made our day 60 miles instead of 58. All of the sudden, the headwind seemed stronger. I tried to not look at the numbers, and look at the view.

AD had made a point of routing us through scenic Point Beach State Park.  He also said he didn't think I would like it. I believe what he was really saying is that I wouldn't appreciate it. It was a pretty short park, lots of trees. I'm afraid everyone is thinking we don't like trees. We love trees! But five weeks of all trees, all day, is a lot of trees. We like to see other things also. I've enjoyed the past 5-6 days, with more open land and more things to see. There have been fewer red trucks to count. Now I am counting silos.

I do have to say, we stopped at Two Rivers to eat at Subway (our first of the trip) = while we were sitting there, the gas station across the street had two red trucks and a red car fueling. No other colors. Just red. That's the last I'm going to say about red vehicles. I hope. Perhaps I won't be able to help myself.

Jacinto caught up to us at Subway and helped me finish my food. Just as I anticipated, after we left Subway, my full stomach made me fat and lazy. I rode even slower. The wind seemed even stronger. Manitowoc looked like a fine destination, at mile 40. It took a little negotiating to get through town. The 8th Street bridge was now one way and we had to reroute. The part of town we traveled through didn't look especially prosperous. Algoma had really transformed itself into a happening little town. Julie and Ray gave us the background story on how deserted Algoma was and they've slowed rebranded themselves as a weekend tourist destination with art and music events. The bakery - how could I not mention Rachael's favorite bakery! Jacinto went there upon arrival and bought drinks only. No baked goods. AD redeemed us some, he made an afternoon visit and another one in the morning. 

Ah, it's easy to get sidetracked on the fun evening. Let's go back to my whining and suffering . . .  probably you don't need to hear all of that. We had 20 miles from our lunch stop to Cleveland.  We rode five miles on the very nice bike path right next to the water. That distracted me from my suffering. Except the wind was strong here, with no trees. AD stopped  when we got back on the road, when we had 13.3 miles to go. I remember. I had a bad attitude at that point. The wind was far too strong and I just wanted to be there. 

Finally, AD said he was going to kick his horse and would wait for me at the turn. I'm glad someone had the ability to turn the speed up. That someone was not me. Would we ever, ever get there? This was such a nice day, I bet that group of 16 had an excellent day, with a tailwind!

The miles ticked by too slowly for me. Finally I saw AD waiting and we rode the last two miles together. AD said the Supper Club was 1.2 miles from the lodge and we could ride there. Anyone who knows me knows that's not happening. I'm good to walk across the street. Especially on a day like today. I gave myself the pep talk. We just started riding together, I should be accommodating. I CAN do it,I just don't want to. We pulled up to the Highland Lodge. There's a Subway and a Pizza place inside of the neighboring gas station. I've never eaten Subway twice in one day, but it's possible. 

Jacinto was waiting outside. The first thing he said was that they would give us a ride to dinner and pick us up! Crisis averted! Our bicycles went in the garage. I found a folding chair to sit on while I cleaned my chain. I didn't trust myself to sit on the floor and get back up. 

I had splurged here on a suite - it was on the second floor. Lucky us. The ice was on the first floor. To my credit, I walked back down for ice, and didn't ask Jacinto to go. I figure it was a good thing to get some lactic acid out. 

AD has been waiting now to go to dinner. We had better get moving. It was a long day. We were on the road seven hours. 

Departure photo at the agreed upon 9;30 AM. My earliest start!
Heart 2 Comment 0
A carved mariner.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A farmer baling oats? It doesn’t look like hay. Julie and Ray said some oats is raised around here, not wheat, as I guessed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out all the birds in the condo!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I love brick houses. I think I’ve read the Three Little Pigs too many times
Heart 1 Comment 0
Silos.
Heart 1 Comment 0
More silos.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were plenty of warning signs. Here is the proof. It’s really out.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A nuclear facility that is being dismantled. We met an administrative woman taking a lunch stroll who works there. She said it would be another year and then it would’ve turned into green space.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My last silo shot for today. I promise.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Is this a futuristic hunting blind?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The unusual towel holder at the lodge. The towels are the plushest of the trip!
Heart 1 Comment 0
We even had embossed TP!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Seen in Keewaunee.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ooops. Some silos snuck into this tractor photo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beach doings in Two Rivers.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 1,517 miles (2,441 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Robert FlynnTell AD that RansRider says hello . Talked to him a few times on DALMAC .
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Andrew CarsonTo Robert FlynnHi Bob! I remember well. Still hoping that DALMAC comes off this year. I have a reservation on the 5 Day East. You?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Robert FlynnTo Andrew CarsonNo I retired2 years ago when my 2 riding buddies decided after doing 27 DALMAC,S together we were going to stop touring and just do local rides as we are all getting along in years . Hope to see you at signup for DALMAC as I plan on working it . Safe travels . By the way I enjoyed your Lake Superior journal .
Reply to this comment
2 years ago