Day 62: Kalbarri Rest day 2 - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2022

Day 62: Kalbarri Rest day 2

I woke up early today, despite not having to go anywhere. I blame the 3 ponies of beer I had at Finlay’s. I like the word pony much better than pot for a half pint.

I lay in bed for a while though and still missed them moving the boat off the rocks. By the time I went outside, the boat was floated and the front end loader that had pushed it off was trundling back up the rocks. 

I walked up to the lookout at the mouth of the river and the boat still seemed to be floating too
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then I walked back down the town to the cafe and had a coffee. It was not so busy this morning. We had planned to hire a little tinny and go up the river but then we realised that the boat hire place was shut on sundays. What the hell, Kalbarri? 

So Mum and I walked around to near the mouth of the river again and I went for a swim. It was cold but lovely. Dad apparently went for a swim outside the apartment but we didn’t call in to pick him up so he didn’t come to the cafe. I thought he was going to meet us on the beach. Anyway, I had another coffee. It was iced and delicious. That makes it three visits to that cafe in two days. I’m going to leave before it opens tomorrow so I’ll just say three visits in three days in Kalbarri. 

We all did some planning from here. I booked a train/bus to go down to the south west after I get to Perth and Mum and Dad are considering if they can get to Mildura in time to meet Robyn on the last weekend of September. They’re going to speed up considerably from tomorrow. 

Dad boiled his lobster and posed for a photo. Unfortunately it was still frozen in the middle so he had to fry it but it was nice after that
Heart 4 Comment 0

We went back out to the Island Rock in the windy afternoon. 

Mum charged on ahead on the coastal path to the next lookout north
Heart 1 Comment 0

Dad drove round to the next lookout, the Grandstand and Shell House.

The track is called the trail which is the Nanda word for euro (kangaroo)
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Shell House lookout was spectacular
Heart 3 Comment 0

Mum and Dad then drove around to the next lookout and I kept walking. There was no one else on the path, and there were whale splashes and blow spurts all over the ocean. I even saw a few whales breaching, although they were obviously small. 

There was a nice beach in Eagle Gorge where Mum had waited while Dad looked at birds
Heart 3 Comment 0
We drove back to town and Kalbarri put on a nice sunset for our last night
Heart 4 Comment 0

There was significant consternation when we discovered that no one had bought the eggs for Sunday night dinner. Luckily we discovered this in time to get down to the fish and chip shop before they ran out of fish. I also bought some Prosecco to toast our final night together after a lovely string of weekend meet ups down the west coast.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0