The plan - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

The plan

This is the sixth leg of my cycle round Australia in extremely well spaced pieces.

Most of the other legs have occurred in between major life events: after graduating uni (Tasmania), after losing my first job (Adelaide -Melbourne), before moving to London (Cairns - Darwin).

It was on that last trip that I looked longingly down the Victoria Highway leading west from Katherine and promised to come back. 

Two years in London stretched over four, then Covid shut the borders, then I accepted unfortunately timed job offers, so it has been seven years since i took the road north, not west, from Katherine. 

Unlike the other trips, I’ve just decided to take leave from my life in Brisbane for three months to take that western road and hopefully follow it all the way to Perth via the Gibb River Road.

I’ve got my third bike. It’s the second procured from Chris Moore of Omafiets, who also sold me his Giant hybrid in 2009 that would take me around southeastern Australia. This one is a new brother cycles “Big Bro”. It was a wrench to leave my beloved surly ogre, bought seven years ago for the cairns - Darwin trip, in a garage in Brisbane. I’ve taken this new bike on a test week in North Queensland where it handled dirt roads and large loads with ease so I’m hoping that will continue and make up for my (temporary) betrayal of the ogre.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Frank DenmanEnjoying your blog nearly finished then home and work out next trip or have you already got one planned xx
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

This is my first blog, after reading many but never contributing my experience to other cycle tourists. 

I’m making my way to Katherine via Greyhound bus so will see how my enthusiasm for blogging holds up when not sitting on a bus for days on end. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Kathleen JonesLooking forward to hearing about this ride, whenever you get around to writing it. It’s quite a ride. Tailwinds!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Megan HolzwartDon't get eaten by a crocodile filling up your water bottle in a river. Hit up the grey nomads... on average they are safer.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wendy MillerAdventure! I want to hear about star filled skies and desert sands :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago