Day 49: Bullara to Coral Bay - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

September 5, 2022

Day 49: Bullara to Coral Bay

It wasn’t windy when I got up so I planned to make an early start but I got a little sidetracked by fresh milk and toast for breakfast so didn’t ride out til 7. 

It was smooth sailing out the driveway and the 5k to the Exmouth road. Then I turned south into the wind. It wasn’t too strong at the beginning but picked up throughout the morning. 

The country was just grassy sand dunes and termite mounds. Lucky I had such a lot of time to gaze upon it. Actually I noticed my head was down into the wind a bit and had to make an effort to keep my chin up. 

Can you see the distant hills? These were very exciting after about 30k
Heart 0 Comment 0

Mum and Dad had said they were going to take a station track on Bullara to the Exmouth gulf. When they overtook me after about 40k, I thought they’d already been able to get there and back and I must be even slower than I felt. But they’d turned back cause the track was rough so i felt okay about my progress. They’re going to Carnarvon today for four nights. 

Soon after I saw them, the road upgrade finished and there was no shoulder. Not only that but the edge of the road is all bumpy and washed out and often unrideable so I have to be in the lane. Between the now strong wind and getting off the road for cars, it took me an hour to do the final 10k to the Coral Bay turnoff, and roughly another hour to get the 12k in.

It is a very strange place, consisting only of two caravan parks, a hotel and a small shopping centre. And people everywhere.

I went straight to the bakery for a spinach and feta pastie and an apple turnover. Then I went for a swim and it felt a little colder than Turquoise Bay. 

The beach made up for the ride
Heart 4 Comment 0

After my swim, I had a beer and an enormous plate of wedges from the cafe. Finally I checked into the caravan park and realised I’d accidentally booked a powered site. So I rolled into the middle of this absolute caravan city where all my neighbours were comparing each other’s rigs. My neighbour did have the best response to me cycling though: that’s so gangster. Thanks! 

I spent the afternoon sitting on the beach
Heart 4 Comment 0
Before heading up to the look out
Heart 0 Comment 0
Unfortunately there was a low bank of clouds obscuring the actual sunset
Heart 3 Comment 0

I made burritos for dinner with cheese, sour cream and fresh salad!

Today's ride: 70 km (43 miles)
Total: 3,445 km (2,139 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0