Day 44: Fortescue River to Cane River - Katherine to Perth 2022 - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2022

Day 44: Fortescue River to Cane River

The only other occupants of the caravan park packed up and left at 3am this morning which was a bit rude. I had already decided to leave after 7 so that I could get an iced coffee from the servo and to remove the temptation to smash out 160k to Nanutarra for no reason. It’s getting lighter later down here so I slept in til 6.

I managed to extricate my bike from the burr infested campground with only one incursion into the rear tyre that didn’t go all the way through which was quite amazing. 

I drank my iced coffee and watched the resident dingo forage for scraps outside the roadhouse
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wildflowers, hills and clouds to start the day
Heart 2 Comment 0

The wind was a crosswind, not too strong but it was slower going than yesterday. 

I made it to the Pannowonica turn off around 10 for the obligatory photo of my bike inside a scoop. The rodeo is on this weekend
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not far down the road was the Robe River Rest Area
Heart 2 Comment 0

There were two couples talking as I arrived, one lady gave me cold water and the other told me I was crazy: “I thought you were a bloke which was bad enough, it’s even worse you’re female”. The cold water was nice but I’m getting tired of being told I’m crazy to my face. 

There were lots of green and yellow budgies in this tree but they were hard to photograph
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had an apples and some Oreos and ride on. The clouds were disappearing and it was quite hot. I really need to start eating better at my first morning stop as I was struggling by 12:30. A guy who was stopped at a rest stop going north crossed to my side of the road and gave me two bottles of cold water. I sculled one and that made me feel better. I think it was also cause I thought today was a “light day” but it’s still 100k and takes time. 

The hills are getting less red Pilbara like
Heart 0 Comment 0

I thought about going into the Peedamulla station campground to support them but it’s 7k off the road and I decided I’d be better served doing at least another 20 down the road. I arrived at Cane River about 2:30. I followed a van in down the track. They were pulling into the nicest spot, in typical convoluted caravan fashion so I bypassed them and went down to the river bank. I had thought about going on another 15k to the Onslow turn off but decided I would be better served having a nice afternoon and campsite than pushing onto a roadside camp. 

There’s even a nice leaning spot for my bike
Heart 6 Comment 0

The river is not flowing but there’s a waist deep fairly clear and surprisingly cool pool that I had a dip in. Another van pulled up about 5:30 with two dogs who also went swimming in the pool. 

I set up camp next to a shallower pool
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bridge at sunset
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 100 km (62 miles)
Total: 3,125 km (1,941 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Ben Nooneyou are not crazy you are brilliant!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyTo Ben NooneI concur
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Clare SilcockTo Vince McCarthyAw thanks guys!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago