Final stretch back to Port Orange: Home again - Central Florida and Some Baseball - CycleBlaze

March 23, 2012

Final stretch back to Port Orange: Home again

Kim writes:

Whew! A hot day for cycling.

John writes:

This morning, Kim and I bid farewell to the "RV People" and squirrels to hit the road for our earliest start of the week: 0930. We pedaled north on US 1 with a measly single-digit tailwind until stopping for a lunch break at Hoff's Family Diner in Edgewater. Kim - forever looking out for me - reminded me that today was Friday, thus I was forced to order fish. Hoff's only offered two choices: catfish and another type of fish that neither of us had heard of before. The catfish was good.

The prettiest part of the day was seven miles on Riverside Drive, another two-lane road paralleling US 1 with the water on our right and nice houses on our left.

Upon finally arriving back at Kim's house in Port Orange, she immediately turned on the air-conditioning and I lay down to rest on the floor. Man, today was hot! I unpacked my bicycle later and moved most of it to my car.

Tonight, we're going to Panera Bread for chocolate milk and salads.

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 174 miles (280 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0