Summary - Central Florida and Some Baseball - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2012

Summary

Kim writes:

Objective 1 - get back into touring shape - accomplished. Too bad the trip is over now.

Objective 2 - enjoy nature and some nice springtime weather - accomplished, although it was hotter than expected for March.

Objective 3 - cycle 50-mile days on loaded bicycles - partially accomplished. We prefer 40-mile days instead.

Objective 4 - go watch a spring training baseball game - accomplished. Much fun!

Objective 5 - use tablet for journal updates - accomplished. Much better than carrying a heavier laptop. Need to work on getting photo uploads though.

Objective 6 - provide John with a chance to try out my Trek 520 - accomplished. See John's note below.

Overall, a fun trip. And no flat tires!!

John writes:

I used this trip to test out Kim's Trek 520 touring bicycle with the thought of buying one of my own. I think it's a done deal.

I also used this trip to test my new "critter-proof" food bag. It worked. So what was I thinking by leaving my leftover pasta on the picnic table???

Lastly, I used this trip to test my new organizational system of using different colored stuff sacks for different items. Kim laughed at me.

We really liked this baseball spring trainig gig, and are pondering the possibility of doing a trip next spring where we hit every ball park in Florida by bicycle. Wouldn't that be a hoot?

No matter what Kim and I do, forty mile days are about the best that we can accomplish. If we ever try to tackle going cross-country, then we'd better take a year off from work!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0