John's equipment: First long tour, traveling a little bit light - Summer Adventure 2011 - CycleBlaze

John's equipment: First long tour, traveling a little bit light

Kim typed the equipment list, and I typed the comments. My whole intent is to do this tour with the minimal amount of gear.

Bicycle and all:

1997 Diamondback Expert: 7935 miles on it. Will it reach 10,000?

Tubus racks - Logo and Tara

Ortlieb panniers - Bike Packer Plus: I bought these because Kim told me to.

handlebar bag

insulated water bottles (2): Up until now I was using two green plastic bottles that Emerald almonds came in.

maps: I make my own and refuse to use anyone else's

helmet + gloves: Kim gave me an old helmet and gloves of hers.

Schrader valve adapter: yeah . . . whatever. I don't even know what that is.

tubes: I'm taking two on Kim's advice.

CO2 cartridges and applicator

reflective vest: I bought this because safety is paramount.

stuff sacks

Road ID tag: Lists my blood type, Mom's phone number, and "Roman Catholic - please call a Priest"

insurance info

camera and notebook

laptop computer

Aloksak bags - assorted sizes: those things are worth their weight in gold.

Camping:

Sierra Designs Lightning tent and footprint: belongs to Kim

Therm-a-rest mat: the smartest thing I've ever bought.

Kelty Light Year sleeping bag: Kim found a great deal for me.

pillow: I have what I call my "Montana Pillow." It was bought years ago during one of my adventures in that state.

Therm-a-rest Trekker chair: Is currently challenging the Therm-a-rest mat as the smartest thing I've ever bought.

spork: It beats eating with my fingers.

JetBoil fuel: Kim bought it, I'm carrying it.

Clothing:

bike shorts (1): A brand new pair bought just for this adventure

jerseys (4): special wicking shirts that I bought from Patagonia

off-bike shorts and long pants: just stuff for around the campfire at night or for dinner in town

t-shirt, long-sleeved shirt: just stuff for around the campfire at night or for dinner in town

flip flops, Teva sandals, tennis shoes, socks

I am taking nothing for rain. If it's raining, then I'm in a motel.

I am taking nothing for cold weather. C'mon . . . this is summer in Michigan. How cold can it get?

oatmeal

balance bars

other assorted food like Power Bars, Gatorade, raisins, almonds, breakfast bars, dried prunes, and dried mangos.

Personal items

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0