Day 7 - 28 miles Nehalem Bay State Park - Tillamook, OR - Jack and Janet -- Seattle to Monterey 2010 - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2010

Day 7 - 28 miles Nehalem Bay State Park - Tillamook, OR

How do we say rest? Well today we said it by only doing 28 miles...this was not our intention. I was having some transmission issues! I lost some of my gears needed for hills. At least that is how it felt to me. A few days ago my gears were slipping so Jack adjusted my cable. They did not slip anymore however they were not going into the correct gear either. There was a lot of slack and Jack figured it all out and all is good now but this is not the end of the story.....let's backup a little. 

 We left Nehalem later than has been our norm and were headed down the road for Cape Lookout about 45 miles out. However, I was having some issues with my shifting and I noticed that I was experiencing this strange feeling 'we do not have to go that far today' we can stop if we want! Then we noticed on the map that there is a bike shop in Tillamook so we thought we could have the bike checked out replenish supplies, spend the night and kick it tomorrow all the way to Lincoln City. 

We found a sporting good store for fule and a few items. A Fred Meyer which was like a super, super Walmart was really to much to shop in a store like that after seven days on the road. I felt totally overwhelmed and confused! I did have the where with all to find a nice Oregon Pinot Noir and some bath salts, facial masks all of which have made for a perfect evening as we checked into the Best Western......ahhhhhhhhh! 

Side note 'there is no bike shop in Tillamook'. Drakes is out of business. The phone number came up on Google and we called left a MSG and she called us back to let us know she was no longer in business. We noticed that the other shop listed Trask Mountain Cycle which had several bad Yelps did not seem like a good alternative and it was confirmed by the Drakes owner as a strong 'do not use'. I have enjoyed my wine and spa treatment and am ready to take on the road tomorrow!! Wild flowers today...Monet Like Water Lilies

Monet like water lilies - wildflower of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The cheese factory...to crowded we did not go.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 290 miles (467 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0