Getting Ready: Start Date is Closing In - August 12th want to be on the road - Jack and Janet -- Seattle to Monterey 2010 - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2010

Getting Ready: Start Date is Closing In - August 12th want to be on the road

The reality of our trip is really starting to settle in. We have been training for two months now - and have logged around 950 miles and seems like we are ready to go.....and still I am nervous! Not really sure why but am. For those of you just meeting us we are Janet Beaty and Jack Long. We are recently retired and decided we wanted to finish out the Pacific Coast. 

Four yrs ago we rode from Seaside (Monterey) to Santa Barbara. This trip we are going to do the upper half of the coast Seattle to Monterey and then hope to finish Santa Barbara to San Diego next year. We ride Surly LHT (Long Haul Truckers) which we love. We are using Ortlieb bags -front and rear and are really trying to keep our gear to a minimum. I have back packed and my mentor KC taught me how to pack and pack light! Although today I had a melt moment and went out and purchased a Thermarest that has to go back tomorrow it is just to bulky and heavy...my ultra-light will do just fine. I am really excited about our new tent the Big Agnas ultra light for two that only weighs 2.8 lbs! So this is basically a test run to see if my iPad will work for the trip...going to test load a couple of photos and then I guess the rest is history and we will keep you posted.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0