Day 31 - 28 miles San Francisco to Half Moon Bay - Jack and Janet -- Seattle to Monterey 2010 - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2010

Day 31 - 28 miles San Francisco to Half Moon Bay

Ok....I think the scary stuff is over! We left SF this morning and headed out Golden Gate Park from Sue's and it was a beautiful busy day in the park. So much going on you forget how alive SF is. The coolest thing that was happening was the Michael Franti Power to the People Fest in GG Park. I have wanted to go to that for two yrs and had to ride right by it...:( Next year maybe. There was a Cross Country race that I think I ran several yrs ago and three or four other events. What an amazing park. By the time we hit the Great Hwy it was foggy. Which I was glad to see as I did not really want to see the views from Devils Slide. I would prefer not to see down the steep cliff!! Now,we are hitting the outskirts of Daily City and it is as clear as can be....one day out of 350!! We climb the 700 ft hills to reach the Hwy 1 heading down Pacifica and over to Half Moon Bay. I had some dreams last night that I may need to call my son to come pick me up and drive me over but we made it! They are currently building a tunnel so they have added shoulders and barricades along the edge which was a huge help!! Was very comforting to know I could not just drop off! After that it was an easy ride into Princeton to our fav restaurant Barbara's Fish Trap and had the best Salmon burger! We checked into our hotel and both fell right to sleep!! When we woke it was time for dinner with Steve and Joanna - Matt and Amy.....was great to see them.Pacifica House decor

Pacifica House decor! Perfect we think!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Devils Slide -looks harmless. NOT
Heart 1 Comment 0

He was checking the view of the previous picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

You will never hear this again! Bring your camera here in this public restroom!!! The mural was inside a beach restroom in Pacifica.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Downside of Devils Slide-we made it!!
Heart 0 Comment 0

More building art.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 1,100 miles (1,770 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0