Rest day in Bormio - Fibonacci Scribble - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2022

Rest day in Bormio

Today was to be a day off the bikes, a day of rest. Tomorrow will be a very big day and we want to be prepared. 

But what to do on a Sunday in Bormio?  When Al was here in 2018, several of the guys in his club visited the QC Terme Bagni Vecchi.  Al didn’t go then because he thought it was too expensive, but they reported back that he’d missed out. So we decided we’d splurge on that and compensate by preparing our own meals in Bormio since we have a little apartment and a decent grocery store nearby.

The Bagni Vecchi is/are out of town a bit, in “direction Stelvio” as our host put it. Al thought we should ride, but I looked at the route I’d created and thought, “Isn't this supposed to be a rest day?”  He’d been past a few times, twice when he and his buddies rode up Passo di Stelvio (from Bormio, down into Switzerland, back up from the other side, and return down to Bormio, and twice more when they rode up to Lago di Cancano and back. Somehow he’d forgotten how much of a climb it is above Bormio.

Once we got there, though, it was a nice experience, even for 59€ per person. There were many different pools, saunas, steam rooms etc., including hot, warm , and cold pools in a rock tunnel and pools with warm waterfalls you could sit under.  Unique, I think.  No photos as I didn’t bring my camera and left my iPhone in my locker.  I’d do it again if I were in Bormio and had a free day but I’d bring my own flip-flops. Each guest is provided with pair, along with a robe and towel, but the ones they provided really hurt my feet. I noticed many other guests had brought their own. 

The entrance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back down as we walked our bikes back up to the Via Stelvio. You can see the Panoramic Pool but not the mediæval baths under the church or the other indoor features.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Back in town, we broke our rule and went out for a late lunch (Al was hungry), got groceries for dinner, looked at souvenir jerseys without buying any, and quick-walked back to our apartment before the thunderstorm really hit. 

In Bormio near our apartment
Heart 2 Comment 0
The ride up to QC Terme Bagni Vecchi. Some rest day!
Heart 1 Comment 0
And back down. A little shorter because we pushed our bikes up the steep driveway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 6 km (4 miles)
Total: 1,624 km (1,009 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0