Oct 19 - Piran to Novigrad, Hrvatska: Rolling hills of grapes, olives, and even kiwi - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 19, 2016

Oct 19 - Piran to Novigrad, Hrvatska: Rolling hills of grapes, olives, and even kiwi

Villa Giada, Novigrad

The harbour as I left town cycling for the day.
- Piran, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0

I SUPPOSE being the only person in the building made it especially quiet in the building, and with this being the low season, the streets were also quiet. Both led to me waking up at 7:47 am. In no time at all I was dressed, packed and ready to go.

The ride in town along the water was beautiful; the long climb out of town was punishing, indeed. Today's ride was continuous climbs and descents as I moved toward and away from the sea. I passed olive groves, and vineyards. It seems this area is renowned for both, so olive oil and wine. I will have to keep that in mind.

Though another short-ish day, it certainly took its toll on me. Woodworking and sleeping don't prepare you for the rigours of cycle touring, it seems.

Finally I saw signs for Novigrad and then came the long descent into the town. I stopped at a bank to withdraw 1000 Kuna (5 Kuna to $1 CAD). I got to the harbour which was packed with fishing boats and sailboats, and again with the GPS, quickly arrived at my Villa Gardia... to locked doors and nobody around. I went to the pharmacy next door where a worker called someone in and along came a fellow within 5 minutes. He said it was low season and that nobody else would be staying here. Though I had booked a small room, he let me have a larger one so it would be easier with my bike. Then he was off, and so was I for lunch somewhere. I ended up settling on a pizzeria where I had the best pasta carbonara ever. Every bite was amazing. I almost ordered another one, but decided to go find a snack instead. And did I. It was a traditional cake thing that had two slices of soft sweet cake with cherry pie filling in between. Fantastic.

Today along my route I found a 12 Euro charger but it seems to charge really slowly and takes forever to get even a bit of charge. Worse is that while the device is on and plugged in, the level of charge is still dropping though it is plugged in. I do not understand.

Anyway, it is about 3:00 pm and I am needing a nap. I will read til I doze before heading back out along the beautiful seashore in search of somewhere to eat dinner - somewhere with fish.

I ended up having just a tomato-tuna-lettuce salad as I was still full from lunch and snacks. I looked around the town a bit after dark but there was a wee bit of rain, and I was anxious to return to my book. A huge benefit of no wifi access is the return to old-fashioned reading. Love it!

The harbour as I left town cycling for the day.
- Piran, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along my route just before the Slovenija-Hrvatska border.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing from Slovenija into Hrvatska.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beside my B&B
- Novigrad, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
My accommodations in Novigrad.
- Novigrad, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
My accommodations in Novigrad.
- Novigrad, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
I noticed signs around for a nearby craft brewery. So, after a day of exploring and wandering, I stopped at this restaurant/bar just down from my accommodations and ordered an American style pale ale. Delicious - as good as it gets.
- Novigrad, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
All bicycles capture my attention. Especially with a backdrop of old stone in an old city centre.
- Novigrad, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tower bell across the street from my accommodations.
- Novigrad, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 92 km (57 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0