Tuesday Oct 28: Burguete to Pamplona: I hope the bulls don't knock me off the bike! - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 28, 2003

Tuesday Oct 28: Burguete to Pamplona: I hope the bulls don't knock me off the bike!

Hurray, it was windy this morning when I stepped out - do I sound bitter? It did not end up being that bad, for as I descended from the mountains, the road turned west and I kind of had the wind at my side most of the way. It was raining, but my new shoe covers worked beautifully. And before I knew it, the road levelled out, and here I was in Pamplona.

I found a little hostal, and met a guy from Sudbury, Ontario (small world or what?), though he is taking the bus shortly northwards to France.

I have not yet cleaned up so I could get my site updated before I forget which country I am even in. Okay, maybe exaggerating a bit, la. Then I shall explore the city with the bull running. It seems that they come right through the old city, which is exactly where I am staying. In the few minutes it took to walk here, it looked quite interesting, as well. I cannot wait. Of course, as with yesterday, I will be looking for a little restaurant with a menu del dia. If it is like yesterday, the wine is included..... the whole bottle. I only had a glass and returned the rest. As if.

Well, I went for lunch and had amazing lamb and ensalada mixta. No, they did not give me a full bottle of vino tinto, but they did give 500 ml and was it ever good! I looked around the city for a while, but then the rain started, and got harder, and harder and harder. They were not kidding in my guide book when they described this part of the country as "sodden". That it is. It is so cloudy and dark that it seems like night and it is only 4:46 pm.

The next few days will be shorter ones, as I only have to be in Burgos by next Sunday at which point I will be going to Madrid for a few days. Nice to have have some short, flat days!

Scenery like this, on and on and on - Not too hard to take!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Arriving in Pamplona
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just a cool poster at the bullring
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 3,486 km (2,165 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0