THE INTRODUCTION AFTER THE MAIN INTRODUCTION: The Danger Zone? - Logic And Energy Debunk The Iowa Myth: Parts 1 & 2 - CycleBlaze

THE INTRODUCTION AFTER THE MAIN INTRODUCTION: The Danger Zone?

As incomprehensible as it may seem, several Iowa cities have been exposed as the most dangerous cities in the United States for bicycle riders.  That is the judgement of at least one idiotic website, based on some kind of convoluted statistical formula.  If you want to read the entire piece of absurd garbage, you can find it at https://www.yourlocalsecurity....

I wouldn't recommend it though, unless you live in California and you're in desperate need of praise no matter how specious it may be.  As a service to you, I'll provide everything you need to know about that ridiculously ill-informed article in the two excerpts that follow.

The ten safest cities for cyclists. Note that six of the ten so-called safest cities in the U.S. are located in California. Very interesting. Interesting in a bullshit kind of way.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The ten most DANGEROUS cities. Five of the ten most perilous cities for bicycle riders--out of the many thousands of cities in the entire United States--are in the state of Iowa according to this "scientific" study. Allow me to call this list what it is: misleading bullshit of the highest order.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Seriously, Webster City has a population of less than 10,000 and Johnston has fewer than 20,000 people.  It's going to take a lot more than one Iowa-hating, pseudo-scientific, bullshit-spewing piece of ignorant journalism to convince me that those towns are any worse than similar sized towns in Florida, Alabama, Idaho, California, Missouri, West Virginia, Maine, Massachusetts, South Dakota, Texas, or any of the other 50 states.

Surely the article is nothing more than a pile of crap, but it has given me another reason to conduct a bike tour in Iowa.  With some careful planning I think I can hit at least four of the "most dangerous bicycling cities in America" in a 10-day loop.  Just think how heroic I will be when I return home after braving the most menacing, hazardous, treacherous, and murderous streets in this huge nation.  (And also think how heroic I will be when my revolutionary bike touring journal, based on disproving some other blogger's insane conclusions, goes viral.)

Of course, my safety is not guaranteed ANYWHERE.  I know that.  Earlier this year I suffered my first bike touring injury in Wickenberg, Arizona--a scary town that is nowhere to be seen on the list of America's most dangerous cycling cities.  Don't they know about the big bolts sticking out of Wickenberg's street light poles?

That brings me to the end of my three introductions.  Be thankful for that and read along as I document my ride into The Danger Zone.  I just know it will be BIG TIME FUN.

The Danger Zone
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0