Day 2 - ending at Ida Grove, IA - Iowa on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2013

Day 2 - ending at Ida Grove, IA

Posted via email Tue Jul 23 06:45:02 2013 PDT

Awake today at 5:55am. Reviewed yesterday's report and sent it in. I once again missed last night on where to set up the tent so it'd be in the early morning sun. Dried the tent cover and ground cloth on nearby picnic tables that were in the sun, then loaded the bike.

Left the campground at 8:25am, heading for a cafe downtown that I noticed last night. I passed a business along the way where a man and woman were sitting on a bench out front. Then I noticed it was a hardware store, so asked if they had bicycle safety flags. They didn't. I said that was OK, since I thought there was a hardware store in Ida Grove, where I hoped to be at the end of the day. They said if I was going to cross the bridge here, the first town I come to in Iowa (Onawa) has a store that will have flags. I thanked them and walked across the side street to Betty's Cafe, which was open, and pretty busy. Ordered my usual breakfast, and was quite surprised on how big the two pancakes were. I did finish them, but was pretty full. Glad I forgot to order the cinnamon roll. Left after getting ice water in my canteen. Went next to the Shell station for a can of tea for later. Rolled up to the bridge's toll booth at 9:55am. The attendant said to continue on my way, since they don't charge for bicycles.

I was in Iowa at 10:00am. At 10:34am I came to the entrance to Lewis and Clark State Park. A sign indicated there was a keel boat to see there. It was looking like rain and I figured a state park would have a pavilion, so turned north. Found the boat and also lots of interesting stuff to read. Rode around the park, then picked a picnic shelter to take a break, since I was now hearing thunder. Drank my can of tea and checked the radar. The stormed had stalled just to the northwest, so I took off at 11:34am.

As I approached Onawa, I saw the place the persons in Decatur said would have a safety flag - Bomgaars. The cashier directed me to the right area of the store. They had lots of flags and also something I'd never seen before - reflector poles. Outside I cut the end off of the pole of the flag I'd purchased so it would fit in my holder. Now I could turn off my flashers.

I rode through Onawa at 12:25pm, staying on IA-175. Just east of town I moved over to the driving lane to pass a late-teens girl walking east along the shoulder. When she saw me she asked if this road would get her to Soldier [Iowa]. I had to look at my map. No, she'd have to get on IA-37 when she got to Turin. Then she asked how far it was. It figured out to be 17 miles. I told her that would take me walking most of a day. She told me she was going to get picked up by her mother in Soldier. Then she asked if I had any water to spare. I gave her my plastic bottle, telling her while I'd drank out of it on previous days, I'd rinsed it out before filling it this morning. She was good with that. This seemed to me to be a sad situation. I hope she safely connected up with her mother.

I arrived in Turin at 1:33pm. Bought a Pibb Xtra from a pop machine on the west edge of town, and drank it at a park on the east edge of town. The pop was easy-carrying, since I now had one bottle holder empty. I left the park at 2:01pm, ready to tackle the Loess Hills.

I followed IA-175 all day today. It feels like I cheated the Loess Hills, since I hardly did any climbing at all. The hills were all around, but IA-175 misses them, since it parallels the Maple River. Having the wind at my back helped today also, though it was hot. Here's my progress going northeast on IA-175: Castana-2:30pm, Mapleton-3:19pm, Danbury-4:02pm, Battle Creek-5:50pm, and Ida Grove-6:50pm. There were breaks along the way. Stopped to buy a VitaminWater from the BP station in Mapleton. Took a nap at a park in Danbury. They had cold water at a fountain there, but I couldn't get my bottle full. Also in Danbury, I bought a large soft-serve ice cream cone from the BP station. And finally, I took a break at the park at the east side of Battle Creek. Just before I got to Battle Creek, the wind changed to from-the-north. I figured it was a weather front going through, maybe reducing the chance for rain here. Clouds were building to the southeast, however.

I arrived at Cobb Memorial Park - my evening destination - at 6:53pm. Read the self check-in instructions and went looking for a campsite without electricity. Some year-round permanent (trailer) campers were helpful in pointing out a place that would have sunshine early in the morning. I set up the tent in a strong wind, that now appeared to be from the west. A visitor to those camping next to me (the year-round campers) came over and helped me with the tent.

After a shower, I visited some more next-door, before getting started on the report.

It's calm now, with a clear full or near-full moon. Good sleeping weather, I'll bet.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $10 plus $3 (breakfast) + $0.99 (can of tea) + $8.12 (safety flag) + $1.50 (soda) + $1.92 (sports drink) + $1.70 (ice cream cone) + $8 (campsite) = $35.23.

Day 2 - Decatur, NE to Ida Grove, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ lots of pie to choose from at Betty's Cafe, if I wasn't so full - Decatur, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Iowa ahead - Decatur, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Beck Memorial Park from the toll bridge - Decatur, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ stern of Lewis and Clark's keelboat [reproduction] - Lewis and Clark State Park, Onawa, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ marker for Lewis and Clark campground site - Lewis and Clark State Park, Onawa, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Bomgaars had what I needed - Onawa, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Loess Hills ahead - IA-175 from Locust Avenue, Monona County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a repurposed building - Turin, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ heading northeast along IA-175 - Monona County, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ naptime at city park - Danbury, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ $1.70 cone at BP station - Danbury, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Battle Creek Nature and Recreation Area - Battle Creek, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ trucks ahead - Ida County, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ waterfowl waiting for pizza - Ida Grove, IA +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ restroom/showerhouse mural - Cobb Memorial Park, Ida Grove, IA +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a Pizza Hut sunset +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 116 miles (187 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0