Day 1 - ending at Decatur, NE - Iowa on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2013

Day 1 - ending at Decatur, NE

rode on Omaha Riverfront North Trail, Missouri River Trail, Deerfield-Lions Trail

Posted via email Mon Jul 22 05:04:02 2013 PDT

I was dropped off the night before (Saturday evening) at the Mormon Trail Motel in Omaha a little before 8:00pm, after being treated to a substantial supper at a nearby Kentucky Fried Chicken/Long John Silver's. After getting settled at the motel, I went across the street to the HyVee grocery store for a Squirt and some on-the-road snacks. With no report to write, I had a free evening. I would have gone to bed early, but was too full at the time to lay down.

Woke up today without the alarm at 5:45am. Packing was really just carrying the bike and gear downstairs, then loading the stuff. I wasn't in too much of a hurry, since the cafe I planned to eat at didn't open until 7:30am.

Checked out of the motel at 7:27am, and walked the bike the half-a-block to Harold's Koffee House. Had the House Special Breakfast - two eggs, hash browns, bacon, pancake, and coffee. Overheard a taxi cab driver's story about being hired yesterday to take a talent scout from Omaha to Des Moines to a ballgame (and back). The driver got a free ticket for the game and a $200 tip! Before I left the cafe (at 8:05am), I got my Klean Kanteen filled with ice water.

Headed east and south to connect up with the Omaha Riverfront Trail. A group of cyclist going south on the trail passed me early on. One guy had a video camera attached to the top of his helmet. It was a mostly sunny, pleasant day. I had a harder time determining wind direction, since I'd forgotten my safety flag. The forecast and the few US flags I saw agreed that the wind was light out of the southeast.

I passed by the entrance to Hummel Park at 8:48am, and took a break across the road, where there are benches made from bricks. The trail is all concrete, later changing to asphalt. It more or less parallels a road - some places right next to it. In other areas, the road is out-of-sight. The trail's name changed at a certain point to the Missouri Riverfront Trail. The last eighth-mile is covered with sand, and I had to move to the road.

I turned west toward Fort Calhoun, arriving at their Pioneer Park at 10:32am, where I took another break. Further into town I stopped at a Shell station and purchased an AriZona Tea for storing in my sleeping pad for later. Then, at 10:51am, I passed a Jidder's drive-thru/walk-up coffee and ice cream place, and bought a medium cone.

With all those breaks behind me, I proceeded on US-75 toward Blair. Arrived at their city limits at 11:55am, and the Main Street BBQ & Grill at 12:09pm. Had a root beer and their Chicken Fried Chicken Dinner, which came with mashed potatoes, corn, and roll. When I was done, I went north and happened on the Deerfield Lions Trail at 12:54pm. Rode on it to its end, which wasn't at US-75, so I had to backtrack a short ways.

I set my eyes on getting to Tekamah, not realizing I'd pass through Herman first. I came to Herman Cemetery at 2:13pm, ready for a break. I drank the tea I'd bought in Fort Calhoun, then took a nap under a huge oak tree - one of many lining the road. Left ready to ride on at 2:45pm. Rode through Herman and arrived in Tekamah at 3:34pm. Stopped at Buddy's Convenience Store at 3:40pm. I was going to buy stuff for later, but they have an eating area, so I had a cherry pie and chocolate milk there.

North of Tekamah for several miles, highway US-75 has no paved shoulder, so I turned on my flashers, and dropped off the road when I had to. I talked briefly at 5:00pm to a farmer out checking his irrigation equipment. He knew someone who years ago rode from Decatur, Illinois, to New York City, then sold his bike for an airline ticket back home.

At 5:55pm, I arrived in Decatur (Nebraska) - this time from the south. I went downtown to the gazebo park where George, Kris, and Tank had picked me up two weeks ago. Walked across the street to Decatur Food Store for a Dr Pepper, and took a break. I couldn't decide where to eat supper. The Green Lantern was good, but I wasn't that hungry. Decided to try the marina the Decatur resident had told me about last time I was here. I arrived there at 6:30pm. They were so busy, I figured getting food would take too long, so I just had a beer.

Beck Memorial Park was almost empty on this Sunday evening when I got there. Quite a contrast from the Saturday night when I saw it before. By 7:00pm, I'd self-registered for campsite #3. Since everything is clean this first night, I took a picture of the inside of the tent, showing my typical layout. It gets more disorganized as the trip goes along.

Worked on report while keeping an eye on the weather radar. Looks like pretty intense storms to the south.

I should sleep well tonight, if the noise vehicles make going over the open-grate bridge deck doesn't wake me.

Iowa tomorrow!

Jeff

Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

------------

Spent on Saturday: $56 plus $3 (motel) + $7.61 (snacks) = $66.61.

Spent on Sunday: $9.86 plus $2 (breakfast) + $1 (can of tea) + $1.85 (ice cream cone) + $11.41 plus $2 (lunch) + $3.28 (cherry pie, chocolate milk) + $1.50 (soda) + $2.75 plus $1 (beer) + $14 (campsite) = $50.65.

Day 1 - Omaha, NE to Decatur, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ packed and ready - Omaha, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ counter at Harold's Koffee House - Omaha, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ House Special Breakfast at Harold's Koffee House - Omaha, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Omaha Riverfront North Trail heading into N.P. Dodge Park - Omaha, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ looking east partway up the 11-percent grade on the Missouri River Trail next to North River Drive - Douglas County, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking back (southeast) at Missouri River Trail - Washington County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Missouri River Trail near Boyer Chute Refuge covered with sand from the 2011 flood - Washington County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Jidders - Fort Calhoun, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ lunch at Main Street BBQ & Grill - Blair, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ flower patch along the Deerfield-Lions Trail - Blair, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ naptime in the shade at Herman Cemetery - Washington County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Herman Cemetery - Washington County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Main Street (US-75) - Herman, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ a proud father sign correction? - Tekamah, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Tekamah's Lewis & Clark Mural - Tekamah, NE +
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ US-75 - Burt County, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ bridge on Broadway Street - Decatur, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ multi-talented entertainer at Pop-n-Doc's - Decatur, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Decatur Marina - Decatur, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 58 miles (93 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0