Namuang Gnai to Vang Vieng - Indochina Pursuit - CycleBlaze

February 3, 2018

Namuang Gnai to Vang Vieng

Road AH12 has a very mountainous section. There the 4c is a shorter alternative with only one mountain pass.

This morning I started with that pass. Over 23 km ascends from 600 m above sea level to 1839 m. I loved it because it has a wide surface in good condition.It took me 3 and a half hours to get to the top. I was ecstatic because it was my final mountain pass until I fly back home.

And very little traffic on the 4c. Shortly after the top, I saw why: Every few hours, they close it to perform earth moving for approximately one hour. And, unlike the case near Vieng Xie, there was no detour for motorcycles.

When I finally got through, I took the descent slowly due to the fog and the mud.

I made it to Vang Vieng. It's a real tourist hotspot with many Koreans.

Heart 0 Comment 0
I couldn't see the rock formations next to the road. But I certainly hope this road sign is exaggerating.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The climb is interrupted by this valley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The top one drops dirt onto the road surface. The bottom one scoops it up and throws it over the edge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The imposing mountain ridge East of Vang Vieng.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fruit market
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fruit market with ridge in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 125 km (78 miles)
Total: 1,566 km (972 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0