Carcassonne. - the journey - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2011

Carcassonne.

It rained yesterday and it's raining now as I write; this my second day in Carcassonne, having arrived late on Friday, a rest day or two was necessary after the tiresome ride from Avignon. It's a wonder I'm healthy eating so poorly in the land of food, as prices are astronomically steep here in the South of France, so I skip on much of the things I should be eating; though, I'll soon be crossing over into Spain where supposedly it's much cheaper. Food and traditions change. I have fond recollections of those daily mid morning stops at the village boulangerie in the North of France, choosing what I wanted and paying not more than three four Euros; the same here costs seven, eight Euros. And in the north too, there were supermarches en-route just when I needed them, whereas in the south it's usual to cycle all day without passing one. I enjoyed France until I reached the south......, but no more moaning.

At the hostel inside the twelfth century citadel at Carcassonne, I've been relaxing. I share a room with Eric from Quebec with tales of woo, such as a Caesar salad in a restaurant in Cannes costing twenty-five Euros. And Tim from New York who is a wine connoisseur. He came down from Bordeaux and will continue his trip up the Rhone Valley and eventually to Bourgany. There's a kitchen in which last night I cooked a chicken and vegetable casserole. The breakfast is included and there's free wifi which I've been busy on all afternoon creating this journal: I decided on a title, created pages and uploaded photos. Other than that, there isn't much more to write about, apart from looking forward to the road ahead.

The tyres I bough in Brittany are wearing quite fast and this evening, I changed the front tyre to the rear and vice verse. And I repaired the slow puncture that I had on the way into the city on Friday.

Sweet shop interrior.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of those "Pub Irlandais" thingies, wherein the Ruby World Cup is screened and Ireland is playing.........
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the citadel over the rooftops.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
After dark all the snappers come out.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0