Another day off.. - the journey - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2011

Another day off..

It had not been a good night's sleep inasmuch as, I lay awake on two or three occasions for quite a while before getting back to sleep; and, I lay with my eyes wide open as the grey light of dawn lightened the dark room then dozed once again. Finally opening my eyes, I became conscious of it being the day I leave and so needed to be getting up. I rolled and turned and dropped my feet to the floor. Looking at my watch made me get a move on as it had already gone seven thirty five. Not good. I dressed and rushed down the stairs.

In the breakfast dinning room, I took a tray from the pile and moved along the counter to the bread and cake and jugs of juice; the coffee, milk, hot water and tea. With bread, cake and a cup of coffee on my tray I took a seat. I drank the coffee hastily and returned for a second cup of coffee. I had drank half of it, when I took a bite of bread and chewed without enthusiasm. It still felt too early.

Looking out, it was a dull morning and my gaze remained fixed on the scrubs in the yard which were flexing back and forth furiously in the wind; and the flag stones were wet. It was raining. I got up and walked out pass reception into the street and saw that it was indeed a miserable wet blustery day. Resigned to yet another day in Carcassonne, I return in and filled a third cup of coffee.

I wondered how to fill the day. I wasn't completely ready to leave this morning, so supposedly an extra day in Carcassonne wasn't such a bad thing. I went out to the bike shelter to the bike and saw the back tyre completely limp; the rim on the concrete floor. I went back in and returned out with the bag in which I keep tools, and set about repairing the puncture. With the tube big and fat, I rotated it around pass my ear, listening for a hissing sound, then came upon it feeling a fine jet of air on my chin. I've had a rear wheel puncture nearly every day lately, and so I'd two more tubes to patch. The second tube had two holes, one of which was small and I'd to put the tube in water until I saw it bubbling up. I also gave the bike a clean which wasn't hard as it was already near spotless, but supposedly in doing so there was a feel good factor. Having done my best for whatever.

It was still raining out and so I remain in-doors. The hostel was quiet. Eric had left and Tim who would catch a train in the evening was out somewhere. I talked to Abby, a girl from London that got here yesterday. She was to meet a friend but the friend had an accident and couldn't come, so now is here without knowing what to do next. She thinks she'll go on south into the Pyrenees and eventually Spain, as she says it's too expensive here.

I continued with the creation of the journal; uploading more photos. And I finished reading my book which although captivating, it took me six weeks reading as there wasn't much daylight left of an evening after a day's cycling.

This evening, I spoke again with Tim as He got his backpack out from storage ready to go. He's catching a train to a small place where there'll be more tours of vineyards. Meanwhile, I'm hoping for a good night's sleep.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0