Aaravli to Colva - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 17, 2024

Aaravli to Colva

I was really not sure whether to just go a short way South or to continue through Goa.  In the end I took the Tiracol ferry (free) which was nearly empty and took me to Querim in North Goa.  The river current was strong and the ferry landed at an angle.  OK for scooters and cycles but a car would not have got on.

Car ferry fighting the current
Heart 2 Comment 0
A bit skew to the slipway. OK for bikes
Heart 3 Comment 0

Entering Goa things subtly changed.   It felt more prosperous with bigger houses more spread out, but as I rode a few miles further South it changed for the worse.   Busy traffic with scooters and Royal Enfields being ridden by Europeans at silly speeds which broke the natural rhythm of the Indian road users.  European beach style shops, bars.  Tourist towns.

I did not want to stay so carried on South and got directed to the Betim ferry to Panjim.   This saved a lot of busy roads and again was free, and very full!

Betim ferry full up
Heart 3 Comment 0

In Panajim it was busy and noisy and I will see the place in a few days so I headed South on Indian Route 66.   This is a 6 lane motorway with a hard shoulder.  I was not quite sure if I should have been there but the hard shoulder was smooth.  It took me over Zuari bridge.

My cycleway across Zuari suspension bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0

With a tail wind and the good road surface I could hold 20mph, not much slower than the occasional tut-tut in the slow lane.   Unfortunately the road went back to 2 lane with no hard shoulder so I left it as soon as I could on quitet roads to Colva.

This was my last real cycling day  so 67 miles was good to finish on.  I need to cycle back to Goa city to leave the bike and find a cardboard box to pack my stuff into for UK, and at some point I will add some notes about cycling in India and about how the bike fared in case that info is useful to others.

Thanks for reading, and many thanks to Cycle Blaze for hosting.   Bye!

Heart 5 Comment 1
Spencer StinchcombeWell done, Andy, another adventure under your Belt, I'm glad the Tigers didn't get you and you could have probably found a shaver. Look forward to seeing you when you get back to get the full story, you know the one about the vice and Self indulgence🤣🤣
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 544 miles (875 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Leslie HarrisSounds like you have had a wonderful trip. Interesting comments on tourist attitude to driving/riding. I bet Europeans have more accidents than the locals.
Safe trip home Andy.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Graham SmithThanks Andy. Very interesting and informative.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago