Deer Cooler and Wi-Fi - Impromptour - CycleBlaze

October 12, 2018

Deer Cooler and Wi-Fi

Day Two: Grand Rivers, KY to Dover, TN

I definitely overdid it while riding 104 miles on a 55-lb bike yesterday; I was so tired last night when I showered that 30 seconds after turning on the water I felt an urgent need to become horizontal - immediately. I compromised by finishing my shower sitting down, which inspired a bout of morbid brooding about how one day I'll be really old, and will require one of those chairs or benches or whatever that the elderly need to sit on while showering.

I was moving super slowly this morning. I quickly decided that I'd just attempt the fifty or so miles necessary to get through the Land Between the Lakes, and stop in Dover, just outside the LBL southern boundary

I walked outside around 7:15 to find that it seemed colder than yesterday. The only place open in the immediate vicinity was a small supermarket that contained a tiny cafe. There were a few locals sitting at one of the three tables, eating biscuits and gravy. I ordered country ham, but it was so incredibly salty that I quickly ordered for a second time: A hunk of Hunt Brothers' Pizza. Compared to the country ham, the pepperoni pizza seemed as bland as, I dunno, milk or something. I was still hungry after the pizza, so I sheepishly placed my third order of the last 30 minutes: A sausage and cheese biscuit. The lady who took all three orders raised one eyebrow very slightly, but didn't comment.

I walked back to my cottage, packed everything very very slowly, and eventually rode perhaps a half mile before I stopped at a bakery and purchased and consumed an apple fritter. it was now after ten, but I made yet another stop, this time at a bike shop a few hundred feet from the bakery. I was looking for a new pair of arm warmers, but the guy at the shop told me he didn't have any, and that "people around here don't wear them." How odd.

I finally got on "The Trace Road", the only route through the Land Between the Lakes.

For the first half of the ride, the sun was out. Later, however, it got cloudy, and the utterly unvarying view of trees, trees, and more trees became slightly oppressive. There's no commercial development for the 40+ miles on the Trace Road - just a few visitors' centers and picnic tables. There are also no houses. Just lots and lots of trees. Also, many, many hills. This is a very hilly route: One roller after another. The Trace Road through the LBL is almost certainly something I will never do again. But I'm glad I did it, I guess.

It started raining as I descended to Dover, and the temperature was dropping. I quickly went to the motel which proudly advertised "Deer Cooler and WiFi", and while I was checking in, two little ladies arrived, observed me in my helmet, with the water dripping off my bright yellow rain jacket, and immediately surmised that I was a bicyclist.

The older of the two ladies asked "Where are you going? What are you doing?" and her younger companion, possibly her daughter, immediately chastised her for being "nosy". I was in a good mood, though, and didn't mind answering questions, of which there were a lot. Then the younger lady started asking me stuff, which of course caused her companion to say "Now who's being nosy!" This went on for some time, but I eventually checked into my room, cleaned up (without sitting in the shower this time) and walked across the road to the Piggly Wiggly and the Subway, then back to my room where I immediately broke the sink stopper mechanism while washing my bike clothes.

I went to bed early, and it seemed as if all the other people at the motel did also. When I had checked in, the motel proprietor told me that virtually everyone staying there was in the area for deer hunting, and they'd be going to bed early, and getting up early. I never heard any noise, so apparently deer hunters are a quiet bunch.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Marilyn DennisonI didn't know what a deer cooler was when you mentioned it but once I viewed the photo of the sign I knew.

Great journal, Jeff.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff LeeThanks, Marilyn. I didn't use the deer color, but hopefully it worked better than the Wi-Fi, which was erratic at best ;)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 153 miles (246 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0