Postscript - Impromptour - CycleBlaze

Postscript

Yesterday evening I thought I'd reserved a ten-foot moving truck at a place about a mile from the motel, but then I received a text from U-Haul saying I should pick it up in Lexington, a town 30 miles away.

I went to the front desk of the motel and asked the lady there if she knew anyone who could drive me to Lexington tomorrow morning, and she handed me the card of a guy who apparently does that sort of thing.

The next morning he met me at the motel and we started toward Lexington. Before we got there, he pulled over at a gas station and proposed that he drive me home himself. The rate he quoted was significantly less than the U-Haul truck, and I wouldn't have to drive, which was a plus. So, after I canceled my U-Haul reservation we drove to his house, where we transferred the bike to his much more fuel efficient hybrid, and started back to Kentucky.

The ride was a lot more pleasant than driving a rattly truck would have been, and the time passed much more quickly with someone to talk to.

I'm glad I did this little tour, despite a couple of rainy days. My mood always lifts when I'm able to get outside on the bike, and the riding in Tennessee was a very pleasant surprise. I'll do some more touring there someday. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0