The Dirt Road - 海口→海口 Around the Island - CycleBlaze

January 31, 2006

The Dirt Road

         I think pictures say it best.

20 kilometers of this. It was unbelievably beautiful but (on a road bike) it wasn't a lot of fun.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

         It takes a lot of effort to find a place in China that is remote enough to be without a resteraunt.

         Our leaders found such a place.

         Deliberately.

         With malice aforethought.

         Knowing they were going to be doing this the truck had rice porridge, salty slabs of grilled pork, hard boiled eggs, corn on the cob, and apples as well as lots and lots of water for our first lunch on the road.

Heart 0 Comment 0
The boss helping refill Ah Qiao's water bottle
Heart 0 Comment 0
With everything else they managed to bring they didn't bring enough bowls.
Heart 0 Comment 0

         Getting fairly near to the end of this section I began to entertain the idea of flagging down the truck the next time it passed because it was sufficiently difficult and sufficiently not fun that I wasn't sufficiently enjoying how beautiful it was.

Like riding through a picture postcard
Heart 0 Comment 0

         However, the next time the truck passed me I had just passed the 2km marker and I was sufficiently stubborn to not give in and give up. But, back out on the pavement, refilling my water from Ah Jian's truck and consuming mass quantities of fruit I did just that - give up. Twenty kilometers of dirt road after 100 kilometers of pavement after two weeks of not bicycling was just too much for me.

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 118 km (73 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0