Back in Danzhou - 海口→海口 Around the Island - CycleBlaze

January 31, 2006

Back in Danzhou

         It wasn't very far from when I gave up and asked to get on the truck to the regroup in Danzhou. I fell asleep almost immediately after getting in the truck and when I woke up the same song was still playing "Everybody was Kung Fu Fighting" more or less dubbed in Chinese so it couldn't have been very long at all.

         I felt really bad about being the first person on the truck (and on the first day too!) especially when I had only recently achieved the level of strength that got me invited on this trip from a previous stance of "there is no way you will go on it do not even think about trying to train to go on it because there is no way you will go on it" however I just couldn't do it. I wasn't enjoying myself, even from a "look at what incredible feats of human endurance I have just accomplished" point of view and I've done enough (more than enough) of the hospital thing to be somewhat dubious of pain for pain's sake.

         As we pulled into the parking lot of the Danzhou gymnasium I was woken up by the leaders' shrill whistles announcing that it was time to get ready and move out. The truck's arrival signified that everyone was here which meant that it was a good time to leave. My very brief nap was just enough to leave me totally muddle-headed and I wandered around in my bare feet looking confused as the group took off. Someone asked me if I wanted to continue and I pleaded exhaustion.

         I remember noticing that there was some kind of disagreement or argument or something going on between one of the other strong riders, the bike shop manager, the mechanic, and the bike shop boss and stayed well out of it. Then, Ah Zhi took off at a run shedding his clothing, literally dove into the back seat of the other truck and emerged from the other side fully dressed in bike gear. I didn't know it was possible to change clothing that quickly while still managing to do it without being seen naked by any of the women present.

         The other rider was now driving the truck and with only a twenty minute head-start to make up for Ah Zhi took off on his bike with the biggest grin I have ever seen on anyone's face. By the time we caught up with the group he was still going real fast and already near the front.

Today's ride: 5 km (3 miles)
Total: 123 km (76 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0