Goodbye Chris - 海口→海口 Around the Island - CycleBlaze

February 1, 2006

Goodbye Chris

         It was a beautiful day. The roads were great and I was feeling good. Mind you I wasn't making any speed but I felt good as I pedalled along, very nearly going a normal speed on the flat bits but slowing down to a crawl when faced with anything that even vaguely resembled a grade.

         Periodically I'd pass the truck parked by the side of the road and they'd ask me if I was tired, did I want a lift. Eventually they told me I was tired and was going to get a lift whether I wanted one or not. I managed to stay awake at least as far as catching up with the next to last rider some 4 kilometers ahead of me ...

Heart 0 Comment 0
I'd forgotten all about the soft shoulders the roads in Hainan used to have.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

... And then we were at lunch.

         I didn't merely go to sleep for two hours. I passed out for two hours.

         Chris was looking particularly pale faced and had apparently been swept onto the other truck sometime earlier than I had. Like me he'd also spent most of his time on the truck asleep. Unlike me he was running a low grade fever. And so, after picking listlessly at his meal and joining in on the obligatory group photos he and his bike were deposited at the nearest bus station to catch a ride home.

Chris, Hai Ge, and me
Heart 0 Comment 0
Over the years I've noticed that Chinese people really really like group photos. This group is no exception to that rule.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 268 km (166 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0